Beef and Mushroom Stroganoff, Aussie Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
My husband loves this Stroganoff, he always requests me to make it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
It was ok. Kind of bland needed more flavor, perhaps some wine?? Also I couldnt get the sauce to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was very good and a nice switch from the typical beef stroganoff. I can't have mushrooms, so I left those out. I also can't have boullion cubes either, so I used 1 cup of beef broth. Since others said the sauce was thin, that's why I cut it down by 1/2 cup. I only had beef stew meat on hand, but a long simmering process made it nice and tender. I also used half and half and a 1/4 cup of sour cream. I served over Amish garlic noodles. You really do want the full amount of curry powder. It doesn't end up tasting like curry since there's a lot of cream and broth. It has a different color (yellowish) than the usual stroganoff, so don't be surprised when you add in the cream! Great recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was wonderful...if you want to try stroganoff with a twist - try this! The curry creates a great flavor, without the heat. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to make a little more sauce, and then used 3/4 cup of cream and 3/4 cup of sour cream. Also, I used potatoes instead of noodles. My kids were licking out their bowls!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I came across this recipe while randomly searching for something new and different to make one night, and it really was a big hit. Cheap, easy, and delicious! Definitly one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Wow, thanks everyone for the reviews and suggestions, I might try a few of them myself. I submitted this recipe many years ago and have forgotton my original account details. Also try making this with pasta instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was real good. We did half cream and half sour cream. The whole family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I agree a bit on the thin side for sauce. I liked the two different mushroom and curry powder though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Really good - my boyfriend and I both liked it. Used all fresh sliced crimini mushrooms, half n half instead of heavy cream, and added a few shallots. Thought the curry gave it a much more interesting flavor than ordinary stroganoff, and I liked that the sauce was a bit thinner. It didn't feel as heavy. Served over fusilli noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Descanso, California, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Great recipe, my picky husband liked it! I added a bit of cornstarch in the end to thicken up just a bit and it turned out great. Very different with curry but it wasn't overpowering, just great flavor. I get bored with the tangy sour cream flavor of other stroganoff recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOTIEBUGABOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States