Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very nice flavours. I was looking for a veg or chicken soup and liked the ingredient combo for this recipe, so used chicken instead of beef and instead of lentils about a cup of mixed grains/beans I had on hand. Also skipped the cheese. It is a great base for a soup and I will try the exact recipe as I like lentils. This should be great for beef barley as well,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
5 stars for the flavor! So good - one less because it is not 8 servings- way more. Maybe treble. I added 32 oz. of chicken broth to make it more like soup. I will definitely make this again. It's a great recipe to make and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I never liked lentil soup til today! This was amazing and very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made a few changes to spices according to my taste. My kids actually asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Cheap, tasty, and easy. I used beef bullion and water in place of chicken broth. My husband said I could keep practicing with this one, and went to get another bowl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I did not make the soup exactly because I had different ingredients but it came out great. I used crushed tomatoes instead of fresh diced tomatoes. I also added a beef bouillon cube. I also added about 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce and two bay leaves since I had them. Lastly, I threw it all in my slow cooker for 5 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
excellent soup, tried making with pork - sooo good, taste like my gma's recipe, she used to add 2 T wine vinegar at the end of cooking so I did too, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
40 minutes to cook lentils in a simmer just wasn't long enough. The soup was tasty, but with kinda hard lentils, it bombed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I loved this soup! It was full of flavor! I will definitely be making this a regular. I did not change anything except I did not have cilantro or oregano, so substituted dried parsley and marjoram and omitted the fresh parsley at the end. So worth the wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I am not a usually a lentil fan, but this is spectacular! I use extra lean ground beef or ground sirloin instead of the chuck. I also use a combination of beef broth and chicken (about a 2:1 ratio). Brilliantly flavourful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshiyre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States