Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Umm Umar
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I made this vegetarian style by omitting the beef and adding a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Umar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love this recipe. It's great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whalechomp
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So great! Made it twice it was so nice. I used my pressure cooker to make this and in half the time! Pressure cooking instructions: After browning meat, cooking the veggies, seasoning, adding stock and lentils; close lid and get to pressure, rocking for 4 min. Cool immediately. Remove veggies and lentils. Put meat in stock and build to pressure. Rocking for 15 min, let pressure drop on its own accord. Then put the veggies and lentils back in the stock and you're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whalechomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mancancook
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This soup was so good that we have made it a permanent in our table. My family has requested so many time that now I over make the soup and freeze it so that we can eat it again the following week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mancancook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was a great Fall dinner. I changed the recipe up a bit and used Johnsonville Italian sausage instead of the beef. I did cut the garlic back to 3 cloves (my garlic cloves were really big) and used beef broth instead of chicken. Everyone loved it, so much so that I had trouble saving a bit for lunch the next day. I thought the family was going to start licking the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious! Only change I made was all fresh herbs and I added 2 parsnips and splash of Worchester shire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe is truly a hidden gem! I made it to the specifications except for the fact that I used beef broth as all of the other reviewers mentioned. While it was so delicious the day I made it, it was even more delicious the day after!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this beef and Lentil soup and my husband did also. That is a huge deal since he is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very nice flavours. I was looking for a veg or chicken soup and liked the ingredient combo for this recipe, so used chicken instead of beef and instead of lentils about a cup of mixed grains/beans I had on hand. Also skipped the cheese. It is a great base for a soup and I will try the exact recipe as I like lentils. This should be great for beef barley as well,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
5 stars for the flavor! So good - one less because it is not 8 servings- way more. Maybe treble. I added 32 oz. of chicken broth to make it more like soup. I will definitely make this again. It's a great recipe to make and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States