Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! It didn't last long in our kitchen and we'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The only change I made to the recipe was using beef broth rather then chicken. It was wonderful! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My "I hate vegetables because I'm sure they'll kill me" 11 year old helped make this soup. He and his 9 year old, "I'll eat SOME veggies unless they're green" brother both loved the smell as it cooked. I had my 11 year old "try the soup" to see if it was done and he LOVED it. I added more veggies including chopped fresh spinach and a can of beef chunks from Costco instead of the regular beef. I'm trying to eat more legumes and this will be on the top of my legume recipe list now! If the kids will eat it, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
We absolutely loved this. I modified it only slightly - using part chicken broth and part beef stock, because that's what I had on hand that needed to be used up. I did not use the cilantro - only parsley. I only added 1 cup of lentils, which was plenty for the amount of stock that I added. In the end, it was more like a stew. I served it over ditalini pasta with crusty french bread on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
this was a HUGE hit! Only difference, I used beef broth. My husband raved and my 4 year old asked for more...tough crowd too! will definatley add to my cookbook and make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katown666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A fantastic combination! The beef and lentils go so well together. This recipe is a real winner - no changes needed, although I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth like many other reviewers. As with many soups/stews, it's even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because it took about 12 hours on "hi" for my lentils to become tender. I actually had to scrap this for dinner that night because it wasn't done. (Next time I will follow another reviewer's suggestion to add the tomatoes later in the process.) I saved this in the fridge for another night and the leftovers were definitely 5 stars! This is the best lentil dish I've ever made. Next time, I will either cook it on the stove, so I have more control over the heat, or I will boil my stock and water before adding it so it doesn't take so long to start cooking the lentils. The smoky flavor of the kielbasa really blends with the spices and lentils to make a delicicous stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was a great lentil soup my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
One of my all time favorite soups! I do make a few alterations when I make this but I stick pretty close to the over all idea of the recipe (I use veggie broth vs. chicken, do not like cilantro or celery, use veggie meat instead of real). This recipe shows me that some of the real winners on this site do not necessarily have hundreds or thousands of reviews. This is a real hidden gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
You could add drained cooked hamburger to this instead of beef and I chopped my veges in a small quisinart. I also used rehidrated onion as I forgot onion at the store and 1 T. fresh oregano, fresh parsley. 1 bay leaf. Made a double batch w/ large crushed tomatoes, I will only use one can next time. It made two pretty good sized pots. Next time I will use my 9qt. cast iron pan on low. Cooked for about 2 hours and could not keep the kids away from it. It freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States