Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I thought this was AWESOME! The best beef stew I've ever made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It was delicious all I did different was put one beef bouillon cube. As others suggested it was bland , it still could have used more spice even after the bouillon . But overall good taste would make again . Made with mashed potatoes great st pattys meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Callander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Love it, I have made this recipe every year for St. Patrick's Day dinner. My son and his wife make it for me for my birthday dinner almost every year too, it is a family fave. I make my Irish Soda bread to compliment it, makes a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I've made this 3 times now and it is excellent. I would give it 5 stars except I had to make some adjustments to the ingredients and changes to the method, but they are primarily for personal taste. Changes; 2 whole cans of Guniness 1 whole small an of tomato paste 2 cups of beef stock 2 sticks of celery 3 rashers of bacon Method Cook bacon over medium heat untill crispy Remove and crumble Sautee onion, celery, carrot and garlic in bacon fat. remove Add olive oil and brown beef in SMALL Batches (very important) Return all beef to dutch oven and mix in flour Add vegetables, tomato paste, stock and beer. Mix well Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook for 4-5 hrs untill the beef is very tender and sauce is thick. Stir occasionally. This resulted in a melt in your mouth beef and a nice thick sauce. The longer cook time also reduces the bitterness of the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I LOVE this stew!! Our friends request it every time we have a winter gathering. We make it just as the recipe states and it is perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Had to add quite a bit of salt, but other then that, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle R. DeMorest Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I tried this because it was featured in an email! 5 stars because it was so easy and ingredients were simple. Thank you want2hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have also made this with chicken to pacify my daughter who as an aversion to red meat. It it great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I wanted to love this recipe, but in the end it tastes like all the other beef stew recipes. It's good, just not amazing. It is a good excuse however to keep Guinness in the fridge. And in my glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States