Beef and Guinness® Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I don't normally rate foods, but this was probably the best thing I've ever fixed. I'm doing weight watchers and this was fairly easy to calculate (for points). The meat was extremely tender and I used Guinness Extra Stout. Man this was good...and smelling it cook for over 2 hours just makes you want it more. Awesome, awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was very good! Even though the stove was on low, the liquid cooked very low. I had to add a lot more chicken stock periodically. The beef was so tender it fell apart when chewing. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've been looking for a good stew recipe for many years and after trying about five or six different recipes from this website alone I was ready to give up. My teenage son has always told me he does like stew but I was determined to find one that we could all enjoy. This one sounded interesting with dark beer in the ingredient so I thought I would try it. I couldn't find Guinness so I purchased another dark beer. One other change was that I used tomato sauce since I had no tomato paste. After cooking the bacon and browning the beef I put everything in a crock pot for six hours on low. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good this stew turned out and my son enjoyed it as well! This will be my go to stew recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I just got back from Ireland where I had Guinness stew. I reviewed lots of recipes and picked this. It is DELICIOUS!!!!! Next time, though, I will use 2/3 of the meat and more veggies. I cut up some potatoes to add to it versus mashed, but they and the celery dissolved into the stew by the end. Next time, a little less meat and more veggies. I will put the chopped celery and potatoes in later in the stewing process. Flavor is unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I will say that the whole fresh thyme sprigs were a waste of money. Yes, the stems were easy enough to remove but all the leaves stayed in the stew. I would use dried next time as I always have it on hand. I really don't know what I could have added or substituted to make this any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this stew over mashed potatoes and it was THE BEST I've ever tasted. It's simple, yet rich and savory. Perfect for a rainy night. Pure comfort food. I'd give it TEN stars if I could. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had leftover uncooked stir-fry beef and Guinness from a party, and made (something close to) this with them. It was fantastic! My other changes (due to ingredients available) were +zucchini, +russet potato, +diced tomatoes, -thyme, -tomato paste, -sugar. It makes a thick, tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
WOW!! I made this for my husband & I on St. Patrick's Day and I agree, Guinness surely makes that toasty malt flavor addition a delight to the salivary glands :) I did thicken the sauce a bit with cornstarch at the end of cooking as it was still too thin for me. My husband raved about it & doesn't want to wait for another St. Patrick's Day to come around before enjoying it again:) Neither do I---thank you so much, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missjillie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this for St. Patrick's Day. Wonderful flavor, not to bitter, not to salty, just right. Great left over 2 days later. Did not change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States