Beef and Guinness® Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This stew is the most delicious I have ever tried. I made it for our annual family cookie making gathering! Everyone came back for seconds, my son-in-law had 3 helpings! I doubled the recipe, used dried thyme. This recipe is a definite keeper. The mashed potatoes is a great way to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleydeluxegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This will be the firehall dinner tonight. WITH the Guinness as I'm aware the ETOH cooks out. The maltiness will be AMAZING as I can tell already. Cooked as directed, but I added a packet of onion soup mix in addition. I will make "smashed" potatoes as well in trying to keep with the "peasant" or "home style" of cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumpy1020x

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
A very flavorful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Tasted good to me but unfortunately I didn't have anyone to try it out on as my kids wouldn't try it. Made it as detailed although I cooked it in an stock pot which I think I should have added more cook down time. Next time I think I will add more carrots. Looks and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Loved it! I only used 2 pounds of beef and I added turnips to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Was wonderrul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
worst stew I've ever made. and it tastes nothing like any guiness stew i've ever eaten. I'm always looking for a new recipe on here but this one is my first (1 star)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi M. Powers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fairytaler
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Let me start off by saying instead of making this dish with mashed potatoes I made it with low sodium egg noodles. It was so delicious and so flavorful. This is dish is perfect for the fall and winter seasons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Tavernier
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made this stew along with Irish soda bread- great combination! Recipe was easy to follow and it gave the house a good smell as it simmered all afternoon. Guinness adds a good flavor to build on. I didn't change anything and was quite pleased with the outcome. I'll be making this again... and again... and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Tavernier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We didn't use Guiness, but a home town favorite, Sprecher Bavarian! It was wonderful and my kids really enjoyed it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States