Beef and Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Rinse the dried beef under cold water, omit the onion juice and use lemon juice instead, add 1/4 cup Cracker Barrel Sharp Cheese (You have to use the Cracker Barrel Sharp Cheese) I have tried other sharp cheeses and there is just something about the taste of Cracker Barrel that make this cheeseball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The dried beef is salty and I always rinse the beef under cold tap water and dry between paper towels. I do this for any recipe that calls for dried beef. There's really no other way around the salt, and it doesn't affect the real beef taste for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortCook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I make a version of this every year, but never thought of adding green peppers. I used other suggestions and cut back on worchestershire sauce and used liguid smoke instead of onion juice. Also added a little garlic powder. I meant to roll it in bacon pieces but forgot to. I put a few drops of orange food coloring in it for a Halloween Party and shaped it like a pumpkin. It was excellent. I will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Every body loves this one. It is a favorite in my family. I added a little bit of liquid smoke to the recipie and it just hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I was looking for this recipe because my aunt used to make this cheese ball every Christmas. It can be very salty, so adjust for your taste. It's best if the beef inside the cheese ball is torn pretty small. Everyone loves this cheese ball, but it does take a few tries to get the salt content right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I hate to be the spoiler here, but I wasn't crazy about this recipe. It didn't taste *bad*, but I left out the onion juice, and it was still VERY VERY oniony. Also, maybe you're supposed to rinse the dried beef (?), but I didn't and the cheese ball was extremely salty, too. The appearance isn't all that attractive, either. If you like onions a lot, you should try it, but I'd rinse the beef and tear it into *very* small pieces to look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
People who don't like cheese balls have loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This is a very good spread, but I also add a teaspoon of Accent for taste. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States