Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very nice pretty healthy recipe. I used all the same ingredients but changed up the prep order to make it easier for me to put together on a busy day. I diced up the onion, carrots (used a lot more carrots) celery. Cooked the beef, added the onions, carrots and celery and cooked that a bit, added the broth & bouillon cube, tomato sauce - brought to a low simmer - added the potatoes and turned the heat down to low and let simmer - just before serving I added the cabbage and let simmer while the rolls baked. No added salt was needed. Perfectly easy weeknight meal. This can all be done using the crockpot - start of the stove and finish the simmer and cabbage in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! It tasted exactly like what I grew up on at my Grandma's house. Excellent flavor - definitely a comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinnesotaMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe but I did make some changes. Instead of the tomato sauce I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with the juice and a small can of tomato paste. I also added a can of drained corn and a gutted and diced jalapeno to add a little kick. I added these along with the rest of the veggies and let it simmer for 70 minutes. Both myself and my partner absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly.edlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
ok, is it fair to give this 5 stars when I didn't follow the recipe? I just had to because this soup is so delicious and soooooo good for us!!! I used 1 pound of beef, 15 oz tomato sauce, 6 cups of beef broth, 4 large handful of coleslaw mix (Sam's club), 2 large carrots, 1 onion, 1 c each of frozen green beans and corn and salt and pepper...and one tsp of sugar to balance the acidity of the tomatoes. OH WOW! simple, delicious, hearty, healthy goodness in a bowl. Exactly what I want my family to eat to nourish themselves!!! the twenty minutes of simmering are almost up and the troops are starting to circle!!! I've taste-tested a little bowl already and I can hardly wait for more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Prepared this recipe exactly like the original with no changes. It turned out perfect! Very tasty the first day and the leftovers were even better the second day. You will not be disappointed. Great recipe, and I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent stew! I make this in the crock pot. Just brown the meat, put it in the crock pot and cover with the rest of the ingredients. Cook on low all day and it comes out great! Another great excuse to eat cabbage. Great as-is, but I've also added corn, peas, cauliflower, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My wife can make a great stew and i have been trying to make a recipe to beat hers and have great flavor with tender meat and done vegies that didnt taste like some chemical, well this recipe beat hers by far. I didn't change anything, the beef was real tender, the broth had great flavor and the cabbage made this stew even better. You have to try this recipe, you will make this again. My wife really liked this stew and admitted it that it taste better then hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
First let me say I am a beginner when it comes to making actual hearty home cooked meals with fresh meat and veges. and this meal was GREAT! Growng up my mom alaways made meals from scrath and this remided me of coming home from school as a child and smelling her yummy stew before I even hit the side walk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Very good and easy to prepare. I followed the recipe to the T, just added cayenne pepper at the end for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this recipe in my pressure cooker and it cut the cooking time down to about 35 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I browned the beef in a little oil for about 12 minutes, pressure cooked the meat, broth, onion, and spices for 15 minutes, added the veggies and pressure cooked for 7 minutes, added the tomato sauce and pressure cooked for 1 minute. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States