Beef and Bean Crescent Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We love these! I don't cook it the way the recipe states. I cook my meat, drain it, then season the meat with the taco seasoning and a little tomato sauce so it's not dry. Sometimes instead of black beans, I'll use refried beans instead of black beans and just spread it onto the crescent roll dough. This is also good with monterey jack or pepperjack cheese. I like to make a reduced fat sour cream/salsa mix "dip" to serve with. Reduced fat crescent rolls work just as well. NOTE: If you don't have crescent roll dough, you can use whomp biscuits instead. Just flour your counter a little and roll out the biscuit a bit, add your fillings on one half of the biscuit, fold over and seal the ends together with a fork (think crescent "pie") and brush with a little egg wash. Either way you make it, it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed these burritos. Just love the flaky ness of the crescent roll. Gives the burrito a whole new look and taste. Gonna' have some fun thinking of other fillings for the Crescent wraps. Love em'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I read all of the comments before I made these and was pessimistic, at best. We filled the crescents with homemade refried beans (Refried Beans Without The Refry on AR) and cheese, as we don't eat meat. The beans were seasoned enough that I didn't think adding taco seasoning would bring much to the final product, so I left it out. I am happy with the result -- a warm, filling, easy meal that all three of my kids enjoyed. A lot of comments said that a tortilla would have done the job just fine, but I would disagree. These are good because they're different. The crescent roll pocket makes them more of a novelty instead of the same 'ole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made these with the kids and we all agreed they were a little dry. You could serve with salsa and that would help or even mix some salsa into the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made these vegetarian for a friend coming over. I just left out the beef. Very tasty and she liked them, so it's nice to know I have something to go to when she comes to dinner. I tried them and thought they were pretty dang tasty, too. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I love Pilsbury Crescent Rolls and I love burritos...just not together. This recipe isn't something my family cared for at all. The tecnical side of the recipe wasn't written very well either. It said to combine the cooked and drained meat, and the rinsed and drained beans with the taco seasoning mix and boil. There was nothing to boil... I did add a little bit of water so the taco seasoning would mix together with the meat and beans. Also, it was WAY too much work and use of the oven for the end result. I'd rather just put the mean/bean mixture in a tortilla, roll it up and eat it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This doesn't taste like a standard burrito, but I mean that in a good way. The crescent roll dough gives you more of a buttery flavor, as opposed to what you'd get from a flour tortilla. I browned the beef first, drained, and then added the beans and taco seasoning. I was concerned that if all three were cooked together, I'd be draining the taco seasoning when I drained the ground beef mixture. I used Taco Seasoning I as well as some frozen black beans from Black Beans 'N' Rice, both recipes from the AR site. Served with sour cream and homemade pickled jalapenos. We liked this and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
We loved this recipe, I did add a small can of corn and mad a queso cheese sauce to top with rathen then filling with cheese...served with Mexican rice, it was a nice week-night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used the FLAKY cresent rolls but I next time I'd used the regular ones. (they are great as rolls but a little greasy for this dish) This was tasty and quick! I had some taco shredded pork available and it works perfectly! These need to be eaten from the oven and great with salsa and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
as others stated...a bit dry, so when I decided to this, I doubled the batch and added a 1/4 cup of water after adding the taco seasoning and cooked thoroughly before adding mixture to the crescent rolls. Then added a little extra cheese to each one. I only had 3 cans of Crescent Recipe Creations seamless dough. So I took a can of plain refrigerator biscuits and made little crescent muffins along the same lines. And with the added juice to the mixture made it help a little more. I can see some different plays on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Firehouse Roast Beef

Watch a firehouse cook make juicy roast beef with Montreal seasoning.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States