Beef and Bean Crescent Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Instead of hamburger I used some leftover grilled flank steak sliced and diced. Very good recipe my wife and I both enjoyed these and expected nothing less from Pillsbury... 4 stars because my wife wanted some kind of sause over hers... I thought they were great just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I love Pilsbury Crescent Rolls and I love burritos...just not together. This recipe isn't something my family cared for at all. The tecnical side of the recipe wasn't written very well either. It said to combine the cooked and drained meat, and the rinsed and drained beans with the taco seasoning mix and boil. There was nothing to boil... I did add a little bit of water so the taco seasoning would mix together with the meat and beans. Also, it was WAY too much work and use of the oven for the end result. I'd rather just put the mean/bean mixture in a tortilla, roll it up and eat it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My husband said it was "Really good," so there you go! I baked them with the dough in muffin tins, then spooned in cool beef/bean mix, added cheese, pinching the tops closed. More cheese on top, of course. Easy. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These were ok for us. My husband doesn't like black beans so I used refried beans instead. I browned the ground beef, drained the fat and then added a bit of water and the taco seasoning. I spread the refried beans on the crescent roll rectangle, then added the meat and cheese. Hubby said he would have liked using tortillas instead since the rolls were a bit buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We love these! I don't cook it the way the recipe states. I cook my meat, drain it, then season the meat with the taco seasoning and a little tomato sauce so it's not dry. Sometimes instead of black beans, I'll use refried beans instead of black beans and just spread it onto the crescent roll dough. This is also good with monterey jack or pepperjack cheese. I like to make a reduced fat sour cream/salsa mix "dip" to serve with. Reduced fat crescent rolls work just as well. NOTE: If you don't have crescent roll dough, you can use whomp biscuits instead. Just flour your counter a little and roll out the biscuit a bit, add your fillings on one half of the biscuit, fold over and seal the ends together with a fork (think crescent "pie") and brush with a little egg wash. Either way you make it, it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These are fantastic! The filling is delicious and hearty. I'm a huge fan of crescent rolls, so this recipe is on my go-to list! I served them at a game night, and our friends loved them! Update: My husband requested these for his birthday party. That is a huge compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Sorry this wasn't for us. I think it might be a hit with children, but we didn't feel the crescent roll made for a good burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I really liked this idea. The only thing I did different is that I used refried beans instead of black beans. This made the meat mixture really creamy and yummy. It reminded me more of a meat pie, except that it is wrapped in burrito style and has the tex-mex flavorings. Nice snack or light lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, we did not care for these. First of all, it says to mix the cooked and drained ground beef, beans and taco seasoning in a pan and bring to a boil??? Everything was dry, so there was nothing that was going to boil...I did add a little water and let that simmer a minute. To us, these had little flavor and a 'dry' taste to them. I wish there would've been some other additions, like salsa, garlic, green onions or something to boost the flavors more and make them a little 'juicier'. I served this w/ salsa on the side, which helped, but I think it should've been specified in the recipe to do that. I liked the taste of the crescent rolls, and the concept was a good one, I just think that for us, the recipe needs adjusted. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This doesn't taste like a standard burrito, but I mean that in a good way. The crescent roll dough gives you more of a buttery flavor, as opposed to what you'd get from a flour tortilla. I browned the beef first, drained, and then added the beans and taco seasoning. I was concerned that if all three were cooked together, I'd be draining the taco seasoning when I drained the ground beef mixture. I used Taco Seasoning I as well as some frozen black beans from Black Beans 'N' Rice, both recipes from the AR site. Served with sour cream and homemade pickled jalapenos. We liked this and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Firehouse Roast Beef

Watch a firehouse cook make juicy roast beef with Montreal seasoning.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States