Beef and Bean Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
A good way to use up some ground beef. My only problem with it was that it was a little salty. I think next time I will do garlic powder instead of the salt. Topped with a little sour cream and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe as is, there is no need to alter. I made a tray of 8, which was the perfect amount for 8 people. TIP: If the tortillas are steamed/heated slightly they are less likely to tear & have the filling fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Excellent!!!! Highly recommend! No need to ever fry-- there were so savory and tasty straight from the oven! The crunchier the tortilla, the better the taste! Definitely let them cook at least 35 minutes to get the hard tortilla. No need to put any topping on-- these were easy to pick up with our hands and eat like a sandwich. Everyone loved them, from our baby all the way up to the adults. Here are the changes I did: I used packaged burrito seasoning and mixed the refried beans with the meat. I used shredded colby cheese (a must) and added a can of green chiles and corn, along with the onion and a red bell pepper... that way the kids eat their veggies and don't even know it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
these were very good, needs more spice for 5 stars. i used homemade refried beans instead of canned and a red pepper instead of green. i'll add a little more spice to the meat next time. i added chedder and monterey jack cheese to the top in the last 10 minutues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out well. My only complaint is, it takes longer than the stated 45 minute total to make, and it takes longer than 30 minutes to brown. Other than that, my fam n I liked it. Thanks Nicole! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Yum! Followed the recipe except I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were allright. To be fair, I made several changes - and I wish I hadn't. I appreciate reading all of the helpful reviews on here and agree that they are what makes Allrecipes unique. Having said this, I think there's a LOT to be said for trying a recipe as it's SUPPOSED to be. After having made significant changes, this is what I suggest: a) it doesn't matter if you sub a sm. can of diced chilies for green bell pepper - do whatever you prefer, b) I halved the corn, but am wondering if I could have added more, c) I only added 1/2 c. of taco sauce to my beef mixture, but could barely taste it (I'm thinking 2 c. worth would be a smidgin too much, but 1/2 c. just wasn't enough...) d) if adding, use the ENTIRE pkg. of taco seasoning (why waste half of it???) and e) DO NOT add your beans to your beef mixture! My biggest gripe is two-fold. Not only were these bland, they were also VERY beany (and I mean SUPER beany!!!). I think a good schmear of beans on each tortilla would have been spot on - you can always serve leftovers on the side. Now on to the kudos. :) I was afraid my chimis wouldn't crisp up in the oven but they did. My hubs even commented how impressed he was with the outcome. If you follow Nicole's directions, your chimis will be nice and crunchy. The key is to brush lightly with butter (too much butter will make them soggy) and bake in the upper half of your oven. Served with herbed corn (Edna Hoffman), this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing, Nicole! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I will definately add this to my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Make these!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also built the chimis with spanish rice inside. We made some chicken and some beef. Both fantastic! If you don't have butter on hand, spray canola cooking spray on top to make the tortillas crisp. Also, garnish with avocados because WHY wouldn't you!!?? =) Adios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperVern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! My family absolutely devoured it! I did a few things different, didn't change anything just skipped a few steps, added onion while the hamburger was browning then drained it and added everything else!! I make my own taco seasoning from a recipe on here and it is fabulous!! Also I baked it at 350 for 25 min. and then put shredded cheese on top and stuck it back in the oven until cheese melted!! Served it with lettuce, tomato, salsa and sour cream!!! Absolutely YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States