Beef and Bean Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I cheated on this recipe to save time. I browned the meat and onion and then added a package of taco seasoning mix and a little tomato sauce. Mixed the beans in with the mix. I then rolled as directed and baked. I usually fry mine and they were much less greasy this way. I topped with cheese, salsa, lettuce and sour cream. I will continue to bake my chimichangas rather than frying from now on. They were great and a lot less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
*****!! Very much enjoyed this recipe. I took the advise of other reviews and changed it up a bit. Here are my suggestions. Do add 7oz of green diced canned chiles. Reduce corn to 3/4 cup. I preferred to not have this recipe taste like a burrito, so I did not add any taco seasoning like some reviewers did. Instead of the taco sauce as the recipe calls for, I preferred to only add 1/2 cup of Enchalada sauce for better flavor and to steer clear of the burrito recipe. Between the green chile's and the enchalada sauce that will make the meat mixture moist enough without over doing it. I also preferred the flavor of "Blackbean" refried beans instead of the regular. Also I fried the chimi on each side and served it with some of the enchalada sauce on it topped with cheese, tomato, lettuce, sourcream etc. This recipe is fantastic my family really enjoyed this. I consider myself to be an excellent cook, and I was not disappointed at all, and I will include this recipe as one of the best I have. Try it today, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I love this recipe. I have tried it several different ways - with shredded chicken, shredded beef, ground beef, and all bean. They all turned out wonderful. I make them to the point where I roll the tortilla and then I freeze the Chimichangas in individual packets. When I want to use them I take out as many as I need, microwave them until they are warm and defrosted and then spray them with Pam and bake them. I serve them on shredded iceburg lettuce with sour cream and salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I followed some reviewers suggestions and used a packet of taco seasoning since I was short on time. Also added 1 can of diced green chilis in place of the bell pepper, and mixed the refried beans right in with the meat. Very easy and it tasted fantastic. I still had some meat and bean mixture left so I refrigerated it and later made appetizer chimis using soft taco size tortillas for wrapping. It just takes maybe 1T. of meat mixture to make one. They're adorable! I froze them and will use them later this month for a small party we're having. Thanks Nicole for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS: I only made this b/c I had some ground beef to use but I'm glad I did. I was worried they wouldn't have that nice crispy fried taste to them if baked but as long as you bake until they have a nice lightly hard touch (I had to bake them 10 min longer to achieve this ...just touch tortillas until desired doneness) they were fabulous! Definitely take the advice of cutting the corn to 3/4C and save the rest for a side dish the next night. I also added a can of green chile to the mix or can be used to substitute the green peppers and onions. Also great idea to only make what you need and save the rest of only the meat mixture and freeze. They thawed out and worked wonderfully the second time around, and saved me the trouble of having to make dinner! I DO add at least half a package of taco seasoning, and never have taco sauce, so use enchilada. I also agree you just need 1/2C of sauce to make these work w/o being soggy! For a SUPER quick side dish with minimal ingredients, try the "Best Spanish Rice" from this site. So easy and so good. ...and if you have chicken to get rid of, the "Chicken Chimichangas" is equally fabulous. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I buttered both sides of the rolled chimichangas and turned them halfway through baking so both sides would yet golden. Very good, next time I will cut the recipe in half. The recipe made 7 very big chimichangas. My husband and I were only able to eat 1 each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Made only 4 Chimichangas, and froze the remaining meat mixture for future use. Looked and tasted GREAT, brushed olive oil over tortillas before rolling them, came out nicely browned and crispy. Added this one to my all time fav's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This is really a very good recipe. It is easy to make and well liked. It was just my husband and I, so I froze what I didn't use for another time. It was nice to just thaw it, wrap and bake. I made it a second time for guests at a casual get together, they were gone before I ever got one. It's also very easy to adjust if you are missing something or just want more spice. In other words, I think this is a great all around recipe. Thank you, I'll be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
These were great. I made my own ground beef filling(a piccadillo type). I loved the idea of oven baked chimi's. Haven't had a chimi in years cuz I'm aways trying to cut fat grams. Excellent compromise. Topped with lower fat sour cream, red onions,and my homemade salsa. Also excellent using the "Charley's slow cooker Mexican style meat" found on this site. Great to freeze (assemble and freeze individually b4 brushing on butter) to have on hand for busy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This is definitely a "favorite". I make it for several parties and everyone raves about it. I save a step and mix the beans in with the burger mixture and just spoon on the tortilla. This is a great recipe to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States