Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Didn't have any potatoes but it was still good. i agree that the barley should be cut down - I used 2/3 cup and found it too thick. Also, I ended up adding water to thin out the soup. But ease of cooking, flavor - can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and loved it. Great way to use leftover beef pot roast. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Good but I would have like a little more spice or herbs. I used left over brisket which worked great. Loved all the vegies! Wish I had had the browning sauce but I didn't. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was a very nice simple soup. Made it up very quickly on a rainy day. It hit the spot. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent for leftover beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious, and I haven't even added the wine! It was hard to stop tasting the broth! I had some tough beef round leftover that seemed a shame to throw out. Sliced it thin and in small pieces and it worked out just fine. I thought I had barley after starting this creation but had to substitute lentils. I did not have any dried or fresh thyme. I used 64 oz of lower sodium beef broth, a few more chopped vegetables than stated, some left over canned diced tomatoes and I don't feel like I have to add too much more to enhance the flavor. I did not add the potatoes or browning sauce. Because I added more vegetables and 2 Cups less broth, the soup is a thicker vegetable soup. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
So delicious! The only change I made was by using lentils instead as I was out of barley. My hubby loved it! Next time I'll be sure to have the barley on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This turned out really well, and was even better the next day. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe, but, I did modify, only slightly. I took about six cups of water , and dissolved two packets of SODIUM FREE HERBOX Instant Broth Seasoning, Beef Flavor, no MSG, no Gluten, made by Hormel Foods. I also pressure cooked some stew beef and used that, and the liquid from that, to add to my huge pot. I doubled everything, and did not add the barley until everything else was in there. Oh, and instead of wine, I used a really dark double dunken beer, one bottle. Made enough for an army, so I froze some for later! Hearty soup, didn't miss the sodium at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Really good! I made this during the Superbowl for my best friend. It was simple enough that I could pay attention to the game easily and he and I absolutely loved the beefy flavor and the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Betz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States