Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I used left over crock pot roast beef and this was the best soup I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! Very flavorful. I cooked my roast in a slow cooker, then used the broth in the soup (and added more broth to it.) I loved the addition of the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great recipe, although some proofreading from the submitter would have been a good idea. The ingredients list is missing the BAY LEAF and the directions is missing the GARLIC. I forgot the garlic and it tasted fine. I would recommend a bit more beef stock since the soup turns out very chunky. You don't really need to add salt if you get regular not low-sodium beef broth. Overall great classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This recipe was great. I made it two weeks ago and am making it again tonight. I made it with a diced up sirloin steak. I doubled the wine to 1 cup and added garlic and mushrooms. Tonight I am going to try it with the 'Dumplings' recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
YUMMM! I left out the cabbage so that my daughter would eat it ! I did it in the crockpot for 4 hours on high and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
A very hearty and tasty soup! I used crumbled caribou burger instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
We all enjoyed this recipe. I cut the recipe in half to feed the three of us, and I still have leftovers. I first made "Kathy's Roast and Vegetables" (also on this site), and then used some of the leftover meat in this soup. I would agree that adding more beef broth than called for would help--it is pretty chock full of ingredients. I try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This soup was quite hearty, so I increased the beef stock to 12 cups from 10. Also, the recipe ingredients did not list the Bay Leaf, although the instructions do. Also, the instructions don't tell you when to use the garlic that is listed in the ingredients, so I sauteed it with the celery, onions and carrots. I used Campbell's Beef Broth (Low Sodium a must!) in the boxes, NOT the cans...I didn't want the tinny taste that usually stems from a can. Was a good soup, but I imagine that it will be much more flavourful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was excellent!! There are only 3 of us in my family and we can never eat a whole london broil. I do not like reheated red meat. This was a great way to use the leftovers. I will make this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I do not know why I didn't think of this before for my left over roast! A great way to get the kids to eat it! A must have for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States