Beef and Barley Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This soup was quite hearty, so I increased the beef stock to 12 cups from 10. Also, the recipe ingredients did not list the Bay Leaf, although the instructions do. Also, the instructions don't tell you when to use the garlic that is listed in the ingredients, so I sauteed it with the celery, onions and carrots. I used Campbell's Beef Broth (Low Sodium a must!) in the boxes, NOT the cans...I didn't want the tinny taste that usually stems from a can. Was a good soup, but I imagine that it will be much more flavourful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
A fantastic soup. I found that 3/4 c of barley made it very thick. I would cut it down next time to 1/2 to 2/3 c. The wine difinitely gives it a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
This is a wonderful, easy, hearty soup. I tried it once w/o the wine and got raves when I shared it with an ailing friend. The second time with the wine it was even better! A great use for leftover beef. Great with crusty french bread and a salad. Next day even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Great recipe, excellent flavour. In my opinion it doesn't need the browning sauce. And there was no measurement for a seasoning sauce - didn't know what it was, so didn't use that either. I did substitute some of the broth with left over roast beef gravy for better flavour. Plus I just didn't want to waste anything. From that point I just put everything in the crockpot except for potatoes - it's quite hearty enough without them - and cooked on low for about 8 hours. Makes a ton of soup which suits me well as I try to have as many meals in the freezer as possible to suit my busy life. Just as a postscript - I think the importance of sautéing vegetables for any soup is sometimes under-rated. It's a step that imparts so much flavour, and really doesn't take that much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Love the cabbage and red wine in this recipe! I also added one can of petite diced tomatoes (undrained), and I doubled all of the veggies except potato (which I actually halved & used red potato). Used dried italian herb mix instead of thyme, increased broth by a few cups, and did not use browning sauce. Oops! Bought regular pearlized barley instead of quick-cooking... had to simmer extra half-hour, but it was excellent nonetheless! I used Xmas dinner's left-over prime rib for the beef, ooooh yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great recipe, although some proofreading from the submitter would have been a good idea. The ingredients list is missing the BAY LEAF and the directions is missing the GARLIC. I forgot the garlic and it tasted fine. I would recommend a bit more beef stock since the soup turns out very chunky. You don't really need to add salt if you get regular not low-sodium beef broth. Overall great classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe, but, I did modify, only slightly. I took about six cups of water , and dissolved two packets of SODIUM FREE HERBOX Instant Broth Seasoning, Beef Flavor, no MSG, no Gluten, made by Hormel Foods. I also pressure cooked some stew beef and used that, and the liquid from that, to add to my huge pot. I doubled everything, and did not add the barley until everything else was in there. Oh, and instead of wine, I used a really dark double dunken beer, one bottle. Made enough for an army, so I froze some for later! Hearty soup, didn't miss the sodium at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
YUMMM! I left out the cabbage so that my daughter would eat it ! I did it in the crockpot for 4 hours on high and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Very good. I added mushrooms as well. My husband loved it !!!! thanks S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious, and I haven't even added the wine! It was hard to stop tasting the broth! I had some tough beef round leftover that seemed a shame to throw out. Sliced it thin and in small pieces and it worked out just fine. I thought I had barley after starting this creation but had to substitute lentils. I did not have any dried or fresh thyme. I used 64 oz of lower sodium beef broth, a few more chopped vegetables than stated, some left over canned diced tomatoes and I don't feel like I have to add too much more to enhance the flavor. I did not add the potatoes or browning sauce. Because I added more vegetables and 2 Cups less broth, the soup is a thicker vegetable soup. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States