Beef and Barley Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Very Tasty!! I didn't have barley so I substituted 2 cups of brown rice and put it in, in the beginning. Also added a little bit of meat seasoning that I use on steaks and such. Kids also are enjoying it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
could use more information on the "spice bag"what spices are in the spice bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
One of the best soups that I have made. I omitted the garlic, but it was still good with the other seasonings. Also, I added more beef to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this hearty soup, and I will be making it often in the winter. Wonderful with thick-sliced homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I REALLY like this soup. It's a perfect meal for a busy, chilly day. I made some alterations, not because I thought it needed it, just because I didn't have everything on hand. Instead of making a bouquet garni, I just added 1t of thyme and 2 bay leaves along with the parsley. I didn't have any barley on hand, so I simply added 1/2 c. of quinoa. SUPER good. Next time I won't add as much salt. Thank you for sharing this easy recipe! Even my kids lapped it up! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a tasty and filling. I changed it by using the beef cubes for stew instead of dealing with the bones. That one change saved me a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Easy to make and tasty! It's always nice to come home from work with dinner all ready in the crock pot. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This recipe works well when wild game is used and likely will produce a lower fat more flavorful product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Next time, I will just use beef broth from a can and put the barley in it. This recipe, I think, was unnecessarily time consuming. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States