Beef and Barley Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Good basic recipe. Definitely one you want to change up! I used 1 full cup of barley, 1 (14 oz) can of chicken stock, and seasoned my meat while cooking it. I also added some chopped cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add a lot more veggies! Chard or kale would be great and I would definitely up the carrots to at least 2 c. (maybe even a full pound) to make it a more complete one pot meal. Serves more than just 4. I also suggest cooking everything in a dutch oven on the stove top so you can just slide it into the oven without dirtying another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Really, really good! I added 3 stalks of celery, sliced, some garlic salt and upped the Soy Sauce and Molasses to 3 TBSP each. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Well we liked it. I season ALL my meat while I am cooking it. So I had added salt and pepper to the beef while I browned it. WE love garlic so I added minced garlic to it as well. BUT I added two strips of crisp bacon that we broke up into small pieces. (left overs in fridge we didn't want to go to waste or have kids fight over. Left a small batch plain for youngest and both tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ellis-Mickel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roadrunner
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I modified the recipe a bit to suit my family's tastes, but highly approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tried this recipe this evening, was good. One other poster mentioned it was a bit bland and I have to agree. Going to try it again tho, and add some tomato chunks, turnip, and bump up the amount of soy sauce and molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Love this recipe with a few modifications. I added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of chopped fresh garlic and some chopped mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a recipe with potential. For my batch I used chunks of beef rather than ground beef; I added a celery stalk cut in small pieces; some rosemary, marjoram and thyme; about 1/4 cup of cooking wine and a bay leave. It turned out to be a very fragrant dish and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKABISOGNO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this recipe was bland and tasteless, unattractive looking and has been removed from my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States