Bee Lian's Rich Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is fabulous. I was in a hurry, didn't read the recipe first and did everything absolutely backwards. The only thing I did right was to beat the whites and fold them in at the end. Used plain flour and it did not rise much, but the flavor is wonderful and it's still light and moist though a little flat.The sides got very very brown and I thought I had baked it too long and it would be dry, but those crispy sides are so good. If I save calories by not frosting it, maybe I can eat the whole thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Wow this came out really great. The only thing that I would change a little bit, is to add something that really concentrates the flavour, like maybe some orange marmalade instead of part of the juice, because the orange flavour didn't really come through all that much. But it was a good cake with a nice even texture and a beautiful colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
It's quite eggy and has too much butter. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This Orange cake has a lovley Orange taste. Everybody loved it. I found it a bit on the small side though. Definately a Cake a would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I liked this very much. The orange flavor is delicious. My family did not go for it, but I think that this will appeal more to adult tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This a very good, quick snack cake! I tried red grapefruit and added 1/4 cup more sugar and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORNER58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is a wonderful cake. It is a little dense but very good. It tastes even better after it has been refrigerated overnight. I used it with the topping from Orange Cream Cake IV: 1 (16 ounce) package frozen whipped topping, thawed; 1/4 teaspoon orange extract; 16 ounces sour cream; 2 cups confectioners' sugar, then put leftover orange zest on top. I made it two weeks ago, and my family loved it so much I've made it another three times since. This will be going in my recipe box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This cake was great!! i like it a lot it tastes great with ice cream on top or cool whip really soft I loved Iit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband has made this twice & I love it. He just sprinkles powdered sugar on top & it is so refreshing. I love the smell in the house while this is baking. YUM. We didn't have self rising flour so used regular the 1st time & the 2nd time he checked & you can add 1 1/2 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp salt to make self rising flour (per cookbook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made these into cupcakes and they were really flavourful and satisfying :) I used the juice and zest of two sunkist oranges, which means around 2/3 cup of orange juice and 2 tbsp of zest. The taste was just perfect, not overly cloying on the orange and wonderfully sponge-like. I'll definitely make this again! One thing for those cupcake makers to take note though: they don't rise much, so you would probably like to fill it more than 2/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States