Bee Lian's Rich Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I doubled this,and made a cream cheese frosing for it.I gave it to a friend for her B day.She said it was different,so i'm not sure what that meant,lol.But next time i'll keep for myself,was a small cake,but i didnt get to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very nice and easy recipe.... gives a moist, flavourful cake, great accompaniment to tea or coffee. I used commercial orange juice, which I think gave the cake a slightly bitter edge. Will definitely try again with freshly squeezed orange juice. Thank you Bee Lian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is fabulous. I was in a hurry, didn't read the recipe first and did everything absolutely backwards. The only thing I did right was to beat the whites and fold them in at the end. Used plain flour and it did not rise much, but the flavor is wonderful and it's still light and moist though a little flat.The sides got very very brown and I thought I had baked it too long and it would be dry, but those crispy sides are so good. If I save calories by not frosting it, maybe I can eat the whole thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Wow this came out really great. The only thing that I would change a little bit, is to add something that really concentrates the flavour, like maybe some orange marmalade instead of part of the juice, because the orange flavour didn't really come through all that much. But it was a good cake with a nice even texture and a beautiful colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
It's quite eggy and has too much butter. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This Orange cake has a lovley Orange taste. Everybody loved it. I found it a bit on the small side though. Definately a Cake a would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I liked this very much. The orange flavor is delicious. My family did not go for it, but I think that this will appeal more to adult tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This a very good, quick snack cake! I tried red grapefruit and added 1/4 cup more sugar and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORNER58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is a wonderful cake. It is a little dense but very good. It tastes even better after it has been refrigerated overnight. I used it with the topping from Orange Cream Cake IV: 1 (16 ounce) package frozen whipped topping, thawed; 1/4 teaspoon orange extract; 16 ounces sour cream; 2 cups confectioners' sugar, then put leftover orange zest on top. I made it two weeks ago, and my family loved it so much I've made it another three times since. This will be going in my recipe box forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This cake was great!! i like it a lot it tastes great with ice cream on top or cool whip really soft I loved Iit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States