Becky's Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
We have made carmelitas for years, its even in our church cook book. This is a great recipe, althought you do not have to get caramel candies... You can use caramel ice cream topping like smuckers, etc. For xmas I used the milky way kind of topping it was wonderful. Just a tip to save you a lot of time, who wants to unwrap all those candies, expensive too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These were sinfully rich and delicious. My husband's co-workers raved about them, and I sent them as Christmas gifts with the recipe attached. The only thing I would change to the instructions is that I had to reheat the caramel after it was "set aside" because it was too thick to drizzle, so maybe this step could be done while the crust is baking? Otherwise - amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I absolutely loved these! They are a bit crumbly (just the topping), but the RICH flavor is to die for! The caramels make it heavenly. One reviewer suggested using coconut and I think that would be delicious too! I was asked for the recipe more times for this than any other dessert I've shared at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomato75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Rich and gooey! Definitely wait until these are completely cooled to cut- and even then, they're pretty crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I made this recipe for a family reunion and it was a big hit. It was very rich so I had some left over. The only changes I made were 1) using heavy whipping cream instead of evaporated milk, and 2) adding a bag of toffee chips to the nuts and chocolate chips. It was delicious! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These are very easy and fast to make. Fantastic taste, but they do not keep very well. I made them on Friday and they were stale by Sunday. I think when I make them next time if I make them more than 2 days in advance I will freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The BEST carmelita recipe on here! I have made several others, but they don't compare to this one! The only thing I do differently is to use 2 jars of Smucker's caramel ice cream topping instead of the individually wrapped caramels and milk. Oh, and for personal preference, I use pecans instead of walnuts. I press the bottom lightly into the pan, bake for 10 minutes, then add nuts, chocolate and caramel. Then sprinkle on the topping and smush down as hard as possible without oozing the caramel through. After baking for 25 minutes, they come out perfect and not at all crumbly! PERFECTION! And if you mix all the oatmeal/flour/sugar/butter in a gallon sized zipper bag and then bake in a disposable foil pan, you don't have a single dish to do afterwards!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These are an absolute new favorite at our house - they are delicious and very easy to make. People think they are a gourmet cookie bar and always ask for the recipe. I have made them both with caramels and with hersheys or ghiradelli caramel sauce. Both taste great - I dont prefer one over the other in taste but like not having to unwrap all the caramels. Thanks for the recipe - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this recipe a few weeks ago and didn't like it very much. Tonight, I made it again with a few changes. I used the 5 ounce can of evaporated milk which really didn't make too much of a difference, but there was no waste and that meant that I used 5 ounces. I added 1/2 stick of butter and an egg to the oatmeal mixture and it was so much better. Last time it was so crumbly. I also changed the temperature to 375 degrees, but it could be that my oven is not as hot. This recipe is AWESOME! You go, girl! This is definitely a keeper. Thanks, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
YUMMMM. My girlfriend called them the "candy bars" and told me off 'cause she ate all of them! A little crumbly/messy, but worth it! Not difficult, very rich...I substituted coconut for the nuts as I am allergic. The next time I made these I added one beaten egg in with the melted butter to the dry ingredients. I added about 6 minutes to the initial bake time, then an additional 10 to the end bake time. Made a big difference in eliminating most of the crumbling, and easier to cut as well. I cut them into 32 bars. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States