Becky's Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Very chewy and delicious. I didn't have the quick oats on hand, so I had to use the regular ones. I think they probably would be better with the quick, so next time I will follow the recipe. The top was a little too crumbly, so maybe I will also add a little extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. Instead of the caramels and evaporated milk I used a jar of caramel ice cream topping mixed with 6 tablespoons of flour. It was great! I think next time I might try Butterscotch topping instead. One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Absolutely delicious! These have become a family favorite and I'm always requested to make them for the holidays. I only use half the amount of chocolate chips, otherwise it's just too much chocolate. I've also used milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet and it was just as good. I melted my carmels in the microwave with the milk instead of on the stove. It's much easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I just made this today, for a PTA meeting and everyone was asking for the recipe! I added about a quarter cup extra butter that another reviewer had suggested. Due to the fact that the bars were still very gooey, after cooling them for an hour, I placed them in the refrigerator for a couple of hours. This seemed to firm them up enough for me to cut them into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
These are YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY ! You will not regret making these !! They are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
THESE ARE GREATTTTT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
These were delish! A restaurant near Cincinnati Ohio makes these but they are thin, so I used this recipe but made them in a cookie sheet, and cut them into triangles. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were excellent! My son and I made a batch yesterday and took some to a family dinner. They went over very well. They are also easy and fun to make. They are a little crumbly, but I think maybe a little more butter mixed in may help. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
They were really good. The first day, I didn't think they were beyond great... but in the days after they were really good. I took them in to my students at school, and they loved them. So did my husband. The only changes I would like to make is to cut back on the chocolate. It seems like the chocolate overpowers the caramel. Otherwise, it's easy to make (except unwrapping the caramels) and tasted really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Delicious, although I did have some trouble lifting them out of the pan and the top was more crumbly than I was expecting. That may have been my fault, however, as I was distracted and may have added one extra cup of oats. The taste more than makes up for it, however. We'll never know for sure unless I make up another pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States