Becky's Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I thought that the crust in this recipe tasted a little too "floury" or "oaty," but everyone else raved over it. I will make this again, but will probably make some adjustments in the crust/topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! These barely lasted 3 days in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Quite tasty. I live in Britain where it seems to be difficult to find caramels so I tried another reader's suggestion to use caramel ice cream topping mixed with 6 tablespoons of flour. Also, I dislike almonds, so I toasted 1 cup of ALMONDS with a little bit of butter in a pan until light brown and used these instead - very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
According to the Kraft site 14 ounces of caramels is equal to 48 caramels. I cut my recipe in half and used an 8 inch square baking pan. I got 16 nice sized squares out of it and were they ever good. My husband found them a little too sweet but I thought they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Very easy to make, and I received many compliments. I think next time I make them, I won't use the full 2 cups of chocolate chips. It overpowered the taste of the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made these as part of my Christmas food gifts and everyone that received them absolutely loved them. Very rich and very sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Wonderful! I have made these with and without the nuts. Both versions were big hits. Delicious and easy - what else can one ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This is by far one of the easiest bars to make. I loved it and the caramels really pull it all together. I also left out the nuts and it was just as good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Wow! These bars are amazing. I shared them with friends who proclaimed them to be "the best dessert ever." I left out the walnuts (personal preference) and cut down on the amount of chocolate chips based on other reviewers' suggestions. I also used regular oats instead of quick cooking oats, and had no problems. They are crumbly, but who cares when they taste so good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
WOW! These bars are incredible! I'm not usually a huge fan of chocolate and caramel together, but this was outstanding! I had to omit the nuts because of an allergy, but even so, they're awesome! This is DEFINATELY a new staple in my house! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States