Becky's Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
You definitely need a glass of milk with these - so rich! My coworkers raved. Only change was to add an egg to the oat mixture to prevent crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I found this recipe when looking for an "easy" addition for my Christmas cookie selection. I've gotten so many requests for the recipe; I had to make 3 more pans! They are excellent. I made one small change, using a jar of caramel ice cream topping instead of making the caramel. Also I omitted the walnuts. These are the best cookies I made this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious! I have made this a few times, and always to rave reviews. Easy to make, and the kids enjoy helping (especially since the dough is so yummy to pick in...)! I used real butter, and I think that makes a lot of difference. In a pinch, I'll use a jar of caramel sauce instead of the caramels & condensed milk--it's cheaper and easier than peeling a package of caramels (which are hard to find anyway). Do coat the pan well with cooking spray or oil, as the caramels can stick badly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is an excellent recipe! I only have a 7" tin so I halved the recipe: otherwise I followed the instructions exactly. It's quick and easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I really enjoyed these. Reminded me of 7 layer bars. I found that you really need to compress the base crust in order for it not to fall apart and firmly pressing the top layer also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this recipe a few weeks ago and didn't like it very much. Tonight, I made it again with a few changes. I used the 5 ounce can of evaporated milk which really didn't make too much of a difference, but there was no waste and that meant that I used 5 ounces. I added 1/2 stick of butter and an egg to the oatmeal mixture and it was so much better. Last time it was so crumbly. I also changed the temperature to 375 degrees, but it could be that my oven is not as hot. This recipe is AWESOME! You go, girl! This is definitely a keeper. Thanks, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I'm gonna give this a five, because I'm sure it would've been if I hadn't messed it up. I wasn't thinking and poured the entire can can of evap. milk in with my caramels. I salvaged it with some brown sugar and corn syrup, but I'm sure the taste was off. All in all, they were good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I have made these countless times, and have yet to find anyone who does not LOVE them. The oatmeal gives them chewiness and substance, the nuts and chocolate chips add a little crunch- a wonderful combination with the smooth caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
If desired, you can half the recipe easily. My Dad and 14 year old brother were fans, but Mom and I thought it was slightly better than average. I doubled the oatmeal mixture, and don't reccomend doing so because it overpowers the caramel and chocolate taste. Made without walnuts, and overall the recipe is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States