Becky's Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly.These were way too crumbly,grainy with sugar,and really disgustingly sweet.They sounded amazing and looked good when they came out of the oven,however when cutting they were way too crumbly and I could not avoid a lot of the topping falling off and hitting the floor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times now. I either use a jar of Mrs. Richardson's caramel/butterscotch sauce with 3 tbsp flour or I melt a bag of the caramel "dots" (already unwrapped caramels) with a can of sweetened condensed milk. I have had good luck with both. The dots are getting harder to find though. I might try adding an egg as others suggested to help with the crumbly topping. But still amazingly good and husband and kids devour them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good, but too sweet for our taste. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The BEST carmelita recipe on here! I have made several others, but they don't compare to this one! The only thing I do differently is to use 2 jars of Smucker's caramel ice cream topping instead of the individually wrapped caramels and milk. Oh, and for personal preference, I use pecans instead of walnuts. I press the bottom lightly into the pan, bake for 10 minutes, then add nuts, chocolate and caramel. Then sprinkle on the topping and smush down as hard as possible without oozing the caramel through. After baking for 25 minutes, they come out perfect and not at all crumbly! PERFECTION! And if you mix all the oatmeal/flour/sugar/butter in a gallon sized zipper bag and then bake in a disposable foil pan, you don't have a single dish to do afterwards!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I let these cool over night to avoid the excessive crumbling/mushiness others complained about. Just cut into them this morning and the bottom layer is nice and firm. I used 3 -4 Tblspns of 1% milk as I found out last minute that my evaporated milk had spoiled. I think they'll be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very Good, VERY crumbly! Next time I make these I will try using softened butter instead of melted (read in another recipe that this helps with the crumbling). I'll also add a tsp of vanilla to the oat batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Rich and gooey! Definitely wait until these are completely cooled to cut- and even then, they're pretty crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are very good! A lot like the carmelitas I remember my college dorm serving and I've been making this recipe for years. I find that it's easiest to put 2/3 of the oatmeal mixture on the bottom and 1/3 sprinkled on top. I also pour the caramel on first, then sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the caramel. Really great tasting, but a little crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These are very dense, thick, and rich! Everyone at our lunch enjoyed them. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Amazing. I can see why waiting for the bars to cool before cutting would be helpful, but there is no way I can wait that long to have the first piece. Only change I made was to leave out the walnuts. Oh and I used one stick of butter and one of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States