Becky's Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very yummy and moist. I substituted the flax seed oil for coconut oil. I liked the hint of coconut. I also omitted the bananas and opted for more applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a terrific recipe for a quick breakfast - and very easy to modify. I added chopped apples, dried cranberries, walnuts, chia seeds, and substituted almond milk and turbinado sugar for my own version. I also butter the baking pan prior to pouring in the mix, seems to help it come out better. With a little milk poured over it and heated up, it's super easy to make a hearty morning dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My husband and I have enjoyed eating this baked oatmeal all week. I used canola oil instead of flax and I added an extra banana. Lovely texture. We eat it warm with milk poured over top. We'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Super simple. I substituted ground flax for the egg & walnut oil for the fall oil. I will use less sugar next time as the banana & applesauce were almost enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was very tasty. It is so much better than the store bought product that tastes more like a hard iced cookie. This was like banana bread meets dense, soft, moist sweetened oatmeal. It is really sweet, I will not deny that. As such, I would probably save this as a breakfast treat to make in the fall. I would at least try the recipe just as is, though, before altering it to ones diet. I tried it because it was recommended by an Allrecipes member. I did use safflower oil instead of flax oil and rolled oats as it did not say what type. Both worked well. For easy clean up I lined an 8x8 pan with 2 layers of foil sprayed with pan spray. When done, and almost cooled, I cut it in half and each half into 4 2" pieces. I have no idea how this makes 9 servings. The pieces are very filling, served warm in a bowl, with milk. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Baked oatmeal is a "thing" where I live, but I never really understood why. They serve it at restaurants here, and it is always a dry block of flavorless oats that you have to put milk on. This recipe is moist - revelation! Baked oatmeal can be moist?! It tastes like banana bread, and while I did prefer it hot with milk, I ate it right out of the oven without milk and cold out of the fridge, too. It is delicious every way. I did use grape seed oil rather than flax seed as it is what I had on hand. I recommend cutting the brown sugar and baking powder together first so the powder isn't clumpy in the batter, but that's it! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
A keeper! I've made this twice, and I will undoubtedly make it again! I can't eat bananas, so I substituted canned pineapple (drained). Next time I want to try canned pears or peaches (which I will blend before adding), but you can probably experiment with this. I didn't have flaxseed oil, so I used canola. The second time I made it, I left out the white sugar, just added the brown, thinking that, if I wanted to, I could sprinkle some sugar on it before eating. The addition of the 3/4 cup of white sugar makes it more cake-like, IMO. One thing I would stress is spraying the pan before adding your mixture. I didn't do that the first time, and it stuck to my non-stick pan. I don't get 9 servings out of it, though, I get 6, using an 8 x 8 pan. I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking. When done, I cut it into 6 portions and refrigerated it. I like it in the morning - just nuke it for a minute on 3/4 power. P.S. You can probably top it with some vanilla yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe. The first time I made it I cut the recipe in half and used all applesauce as I didn't have any bananas. I also omitted the flaxseed oil and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. I used cooking oil spray. The second time I used 2 mashed bananas. Both versions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States