Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this often in lasagna. Instead of the cream and broth, I use 2 cups milk and a bouillon cube. Sometimes I'll also add in some grated emmental or parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS pasta sauce, although I made lots of substitutions based on my cupboard and because I'm a vegetarian. I used skim milk and added an extra T. of flour. I used dehydrated minced onion, and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. For spices I used a few sprinkles of Italian seasonings and a little chili powder. I would use this again for pasta sauce (I might use one T. flour so it's not so thick), or make it the same way and use it as a gravy. Thanks for the great inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This is okay, not spectacular,but okay. Even after using rosemary instead of thyme, it was still mediocore in taste. In needs something... but I can't say what. After pouring over my chicken with pasta, I had to add extra S&P and parmesean cheese...in excess of what should have been neccessary just to "spice up" the dish. It wasn't bad...just not that good. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
For Dreginek to help "spice it up" a bit more you could simmer the cream with a 1/4 of a white onion, bay leaf, and one whole clove. Remove these items and then thicken w/ roux and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Super easy and very good sauce too! My first try ever at bechamel and it came out perfectly. I cut this in half. I used half heavy whipping cream and half 2% milk and made my own half and half. I used onion powder about 1/2 tsp instead of grated fresh. No lumps, super creamy, very rich. I used this in a chicken and pasta dish and it turned out beautiful and was so delicious. This took about 25 min total time for me, so it can't be done in a hurry like package mix and gravies can, but so worth the little extra time it takes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I will use this again and again now that I know how easy and foolproof this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This recipe was EXCELLENT and very, very easy. I followed it to a T, but after it thickened and I removed it from the stove I added some shredded white cheddar - YUM. Any time I need a white sauce for anything, this is the recipe I'll be using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I use this recipe as a basic sauce for all occasions: add blue cheese or roasted pepper (these are only examples) for a great pasta sauce, or mix left over vegetables or potatoes with it and bake in the oven for 30 minutes - makes a very tasty casserole. I like this easy to make recipe to pep every-day meals up. I have to admit that it is a bit too bland to use it as a simple sauce over meat or potatoes - but it is very versatile if someone uses it with some ideas! Thanks for the recipe - I use it a lot! :) btw - I do not have chicken broth, chicken bouillon cubes do just fine, though. Just cut down on the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Excellent! The chicken broth, thyme, and cayenne pepper improved the flavor of this sauce over other Bechamel sauce recipes I tried. For a more delicate, yet creamier flavor, you might want to substitute the 2 TBsp flour and 1 cup half-and-half for 1 TBsp corn starch and 1 cup table cream. Mix the corn starch with the cold cream and room-temperature chicken broth prior to adding it to the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. Easy and very flavorful. I used dried onion flakes instead of the grated onion and I only had skim milk, so I just added an extra tablespoon of flour. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYCLAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
It was pretty good. I added left over bacon to mine to make a carbonara type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States