Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Liked this. First time making a Bechamel sauce. Used onion powder instead of grated. Added a few extra seasonings. I plan on finding other recipes that I can use this sauce with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe! It was awesome :) I am living in Bhutan now where I cannot get a majority of food & spice items, and I was still able create this and make it “vegetarian”. After over 2 months without any good pasta, I was ecstatic to find this, although I had to make a few modifications… First I don’t like onions and did not have onion powder, so just used an onion oil flavored packet from a packet of noodles similar to Ramen. Second, I didn’t have actual chicken broth but made it with 1 ½ chicken “flavored” bouillon cubes. I didn’t have the pepper or thyme, but the “chicken” bouillon gave it plenty of flavor and I added a pinch of chili pepper flakes and 2 gloves crushed garlic after a few minutes of cooking. I replaced the half and half with canned low fat cream. Finally, I added a bag of sautéed fresh local mushrooms to the sauce before it was done thickening and cooked for some time, then served over tri-colored rotini-like pasta. My fiancé (who usually likes only traditional Bhutanese food) and I both loved it! I will be making this again today and many, many more times! Will probably double the sauce next time if I hope to have any leftovers…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
It was pretty good. I added left over bacon to mine to make a carbonara type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
excellent sauce, put it over pasta as a side dish and it was very good. just what I wanted, creamy sauce without the cheesy flavor of alfredo sauces. I would suggest adding an extra tablespoon of flour or add alittle cornstarch, as it didn't thicken enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Just great the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was really good, but didn't thicken. I had to add cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I used this on a four cheese lasagna like I had on my honeymoon -mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I really liked this sauce. I followed the directions, except I halved the recipe. I addred some sauteed mushrooms to the sauce and LOVED it. I recommend this recipe to everyone. I placed cooked pasta and placed grilled chicken and poured the sauce over the top. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is simple to make and extremely tasty with chicken and pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I didn't like this at all. It was too salty and just plain didn't taste right. Sorry. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States