Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Lacks flavor, although great for those who want to expirement. Add some spice, add some whine, and add some grated cheese when cooking up. I experimented with wine and fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Great! This recipe makes approximately 1.5 C. I used fat free half and half and fat free chicken broth and it still tasted rich and creamy. I wasn't sure what "grated onion" was, so I used one finely chopped green onion. I also used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
In a Bechamel Sauce the actual dairy ingredient is milk but using half and half is a not too bad idea. Only thing I wouldn't put in is dried thyme, ground cayenne pepper, and chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this often in lasagna. Instead of the cream and broth, I use 2 cups milk and a bouillon cube. Sometimes I'll also add in some grated emmental or parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I use this recipe as a basic sauce for all occasions: add blue cheese or roasted pepper (these are only examples) for a great pasta sauce, or mix left over vegetables or potatoes with it and bake in the oven for 30 minutes - makes a very tasty casserole. I like this easy to make recipe to pep every-day meals up. I have to admit that it is a bit too bland to use it as a simple sauce over meat or potatoes - but it is very versatile if someone uses it with some ideas! Thanks for the recipe - I use it a lot! :) btw - I do not have chicken broth, chicken bouillon cubes do just fine, though. Just cut down on the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was very simple to prepare. I added a little chedder cheese, which I know is not the traditional Bechamel however, I thought the kids would enjoy it better this way. Served over "Poulet Au Saucisse" from this site. It was the perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
For Dreginek to help "spice it up" a bit more you could simmer the cream with a 1/4 of a white onion, bay leaf, and one whole clove. Remove these items and then thicken w/ roux and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe, I also followed the advise from another user to use one more teaspoon of skim milk since that's what I had and it turned out perfect. I used the Bechamel to make my Tuna Crepes and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Liked this. First time making a Bechamel sauce. Used onion powder instead of grated. Added a few extra seasonings. I plan on finding other recipes that I can use this sauce with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe! It was awesome :) I am living in Bhutan now where I cannot get a majority of food & spice items, and I was still able create this and make it “vegetarian”. After over 2 months without any good pasta, I was ecstatic to find this, although I had to make a few modifications… First I don’t like onions and did not have onion powder, so just used an onion oil flavored packet from a packet of noodles similar to Ramen. Second, I didn’t have actual chicken broth but made it with 1 ½ chicken “flavored” bouillon cubes. I didn’t have the pepper or thyme, but the “chicken” bouillon gave it plenty of flavor and I added a pinch of chili pepper flakes and 2 gloves crushed garlic after a few minutes of cooking. I replaced the half and half with canned low fat cream. Finally, I added a bag of sautéed fresh local mushrooms to the sauce before it was done thickening and cooked for some time, then served over tri-colored rotini-like pasta. My fiancé (who usually likes only traditional Bhutanese food) and I both loved it! I will be making this again today and many, many more times! Will probably double the sauce next time if I hope to have any leftovers…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States