Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
good sauce for my vegetable lasagna. very tasty. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good, took quite a while to thicken as much as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good. I added more chicken boullion. Quite flavourful. Also added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS pasta sauce, although I made lots of substitutions based on my cupboard and because I'm a vegetarian. I used skim milk and added an extra T. of flour. I used dehydrated minced onion, and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. For spices I used a few sprinkles of Italian seasonings and a little chili powder. I would use this again for pasta sauce (I might use one T. flour so it's not so thick), or make it the same way and use it as a gravy. Thanks for the great inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My husband prefers white sauce over red so I decided to try to make it from scratch and this recipe was super easy! I used 2 cups of half and half (I was trying to use it up), cornstarch instead of flour and a bouillion cube, plus I didn't have grated onion so I used a dash of garlic powder instead. It was still a bit on the bland side for me so I added about 1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes that I had. I poured it over Four Cheese Ravioli from Costco and my husband loved it. I will definitely use this as the base to most of my white sauces in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent! I added a little bit of cornstarch dissolved in water because it wasn't thick enough. The cayenne pepper gives this sauce a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Lacks flavor, although great for those who want to expirement. Add some spice, add some whine, and add some grated cheese when cooking up. I experimented with wine and fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Great! This recipe makes approximately 1.5 C. I used fat free half and half and fat free chicken broth and it still tasted rich and creamy. I wasn't sure what "grated onion" was, so I used one finely chopped green onion. I also used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
In a Bechamel Sauce the actual dairy ingredient is milk but using half and half is a not too bad idea. Only thing I wouldn't put in is dried thyme, ground cayenne pepper, and chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States