Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My husband prefers white sauce over red so I decided to try to make it from scratch and this recipe was super easy! I used 2 cups of half and half (I was trying to use it up), cornstarch instead of flour and a bouillion cube, plus I didn't have grated onion so I used a dash of garlic powder instead. It was still a bit on the bland side for me so I added about 1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes that I had. I poured it over Four Cheese Ravioli from Costco and my husband loved it. I will definitely use this as the base to most of my white sauces in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent! I added a little bit of cornstarch dissolved in water because it wasn't thick enough. The cayenne pepper gives this sauce a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Lacks flavor, although great for those who want to expirement. Add some spice, add some whine, and add some grated cheese when cooking up. I experimented with wine and fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Great! This recipe makes approximately 1.5 C. I used fat free half and half and fat free chicken broth and it still tasted rich and creamy. I wasn't sure what "grated onion" was, so I used one finely chopped green onion. I also used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
In a Bechamel Sauce the actual dairy ingredient is milk but using half and half is a not too bad idea. Only thing I wouldn't put in is dried thyme, ground cayenne pepper, and chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this often in lasagna. Instead of the cream and broth, I use 2 cups milk and a bouillon cube. Sometimes I'll also add in some grated emmental or parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I use this recipe as a basic sauce for all occasions: add blue cheese or roasted pepper (these are only examples) for a great pasta sauce, or mix left over vegetables or potatoes with it and bake in the oven for 30 minutes - makes a very tasty casserole. I like this easy to make recipe to pep every-day meals up. I have to admit that it is a bit too bland to use it as a simple sauce over meat or potatoes - but it is very versatile if someone uses it with some ideas! Thanks for the recipe - I use it a lot! :) btw - I do not have chicken broth, chicken bouillon cubes do just fine, though. Just cut down on the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was very simple to prepare. I added a little chedder cheese, which I know is not the traditional Bechamel however, I thought the kids would enjoy it better this way. Served over "Poulet Au Saucisse" from this site. It was the perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
For Dreginek to help "spice it up" a bit more you could simmer the cream with a 1/4 of a white onion, bay leaf, and one whole clove. Remove these items and then thicken w/ roux and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe, I also followed the advise from another user to use one more teaspoon of skim milk since that's what I had and it turned out perfect. I used the Bechamel to make my Tuna Crepes and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States