Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I have never written a review, but felt compelled to write after tasting this amazing sauce! I absoutely LOVE pasta dishes, but am not a fan of alfredo sauce and quite honestly am getting tired of the red sauces as well, so I'm always looking for something new. After reading the recipe, I thought I'd give it a try, afterall, most of the ingredients are things I have already! I didn't have any half and half, so I substituted with 1 cup of skim milk, nor did I have white pepper, so I substitued with black pepper. I did think that 3/4 tsp black pepper was too much though. I used the microwave to make it and it was quick and easy with no mess either!! Overall, this sauce was great, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Loved the recipe...great over tortellini...used nutmeg instead of the pepper and it was a sure classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My hubby really like this sauce. He said it would taste great on chicken-cordon-bleu. I substituted homemade veggie broth for the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Great basic sauce, you can do all kinds of things with it. Make it spicy, herby, saltier, all kinds of thing. Nice recipe. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
very easy to make, the onions add a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I've made it a couple of times and it's turned out great both times. I never have half-and-half, so I use 1/2 c. heavy cream and 1/2 c. skim milk and it turns out wonderfully. I also use black pepper instead of white. Last time I added in some red bell pepper and red onion I cooked with no oil on a nonstick skillet, and it turned out very pretty and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was pretty good, but I did change afew things: One must was nutmeg - I probably added about 1-2 tsp. Another was 1/2 c. parmesan cheese. More salt and pepper than the recipe stated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I loved this. I made it for my family for my fathers' birthday tonight. I added some garlic and herbs and used cereal cream instead of half and half. I ended serving it on fettucine with asparagus, and baked, seasoned chicken on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I just made this and modified adding baby bella mushrooms and doing half broth/half white wine. I had grilled chicken breasts and asparagus, cut up to small bite pieces and put over pasta. Topped with some grumbled gorgonzola and sun-dried tomatoes - WOW! Fantizimo! Tasted fresh out of restaurant in Italy. Very easy recipe to modify and my guests were in Aww. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I didn't have any chicken broth so I used 2 tomato/chicken bullion cubes instead and added some italian seasoning. I used it on whole wheat linguine;it was great! Oh, also used whole wheat flour and fat-free half & half because that's all I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nspireme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States