Becca's Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This recipe is delicious! It makes a large pot, so as a family of 2 we will have leftovers for awhile (fine by me!). I made a few changes. Instead of kidney beans, I used a can of porknbeans and instead of tomato sauce I used a can of tomato soup. Also I used more like 3/4 pkg of taco seasoning rather than half. Hint: if you are wanting a thicker soup, use less tomato juice or add a little bit of cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
So good! I made a huge pot and my husband and I (mostly him) managed to finish the entire thing. He could just not get enough! I made a few changes according to what I had in the house- used diced tomatoes in juice instead of tomato sauce, and chicken broth instead of tomato juice- we like thick soups so I didn't use a lot. Also, we only had cream style corn so I used that and it was fine. I used a whole packet of taco seasoning and also added garlic, salt, pepper, and cumin. We didn't have tortilla chips so we ate it with heated up tacos! Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this, with leftover taco meat that no one felt like facing from yesterday.. I used white beans because that was all I had, and I looked up homemade taco seasonings and added some spices from that along with more water to stretch it. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Shockingly good. My dad has been pushing me for awhile to find a tco soup recipe. But I don't like onions or corn in soup so I have been hesitant. I made this tonight using two cups of tomatoe juice and two cups (1 can) of beef broth. I also added a few TBSP of Southwestern Seasoning. We served it by plopping some light sour cream in it, some Mexican blend shredded cheese, stirring it then crunching up a handful of tostitoes. I was shocked by how good it was. Everyone was. I also made cornbread muffins which were perfect to soak up some extra sauce with. It was thin...but that's how I like my soup. I cut the onions big so I could pick them out and then I just ate the corn in it...it was too good to pick out. Great suprise recipe. Thanks Becca...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
We love this soup, so favorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I use this recipe all the time now, it's been years. It's a great base, though I do change it to shredded chicken instead of hamburger. I boil the chicken with lime, cilantro and sea salt. I also use black beans instead of kidney, but everything else is the same! I love love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
this soup was fantastic!!! easy to make, ingredients were cheap, and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good. I took some of the advice offered here and used half tomato juice and half beef broth. Served with sour cream and Fritos (for the kids). They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The soup was a little too thick for my liking. I added water and it seemed to weaken the taste. I will use the entire package of taco seasoning next time with about 2 cups water. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was easy and very tasty. I didn't realize that it only called for half of the taco seasoning packet, and I used the entire packet - I think it definitely needs the entire packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States