Becca's Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was so easy and quick to prepare! It was a huge hit. I added more meat (1/2 lb), swapped tomatoes with chilis for tomato sauce and added a strong cup of beef broth. I served this with grated quesadilla cheese, sour cream and fried tortilla strips. And of course, a margarita!!!! Thank you Becca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy and very filling. I added black beans and a pepper. I also made rice and put the rice in the bowl first and then soup on top, kinda like the do at Qdoba and chipotle. The only thing i will look to change is to add more flavor, not sure if i will use a differ taco seasoning pack or use more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup is really good and an excellent, kid-friendly, quick supper. I made it just like the recipe says and it turned out great. Topping it with shredded cheddar and sour cream is a must...it just really blends the flavors and kicks it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D Andreu
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was an AWESOME soup...instead of kidney beans (I was out) I used black beans, added diced red and green peppers, and since I can, I used 1/4 a pint of our hot salsa, then topped with a taco and shredded cheddar cheese. I did look at the other reviews and found adding a full package of taco seasoning was a good idea. Next time, I'll use a 1/2 pint of the salsa to make the soup spicier. AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for my family and they absolutely love it! I've even given the recipe to a few friends and their families loved it too. Its a great recipe and it is easy to make. Kid friendly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
super easy is right! I just threw in what I had, a can of tom. sauce, chicken broth, sm. can of paste, can of kidney & black beans, ground beef and onion, and olives! Can't forget the olives! Topped with jalepeno slices, sharp cheddar & sour cream. Ten mins. done. Thanks for all the base alternatives reviewers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a very good basic recipe. The instructions were a tad vague, but most people should be able to figure it out. I added some salt, pepper, and chili powder to the meat and onions. I also added the full packet of taco seasoning mix. To the toppings I added a bottle of hot sauce, in case someone wanted it a bit spicier. It is very easy to customize. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I thought this was very good. I made substitutions based upon what I had on hand. Instead of the tomato sauce, I used about 6 oz of tomato paste. I also added a can of black beans and blackeye peas. Based on another reviewers suggestion I added the entire package of taco seasoning. It was really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Becca You ROCK! This soup is awesome! I did change it a bit from some of the reviews but I feel sure that even if it is prepared just as you have it that it would be just perfect. The changes I made were to add beef broth instead of the tomato sauce and I pureed canned tomatoes instead of tomato juice so it would have a heartier consistency. I also added 1/2 the taco mis to the burger when I browned it and then used the remaining as your recipe instructs. Then I made a couple of servings of white rice and added it in at the end. So it was quite a bit thicker than your recipe would make, I'm sure but we all ate it until we were about to pop. Thank you! I am sure I will make this alot. By the way it's really easy and you would generally have all of this stuff on hand in a typical kitchen anyway which is MAJOR bonus points for me. I HATE having to prepare and shop especially for a recipe. BECCA ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma4Lyfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I veganized this recipe:) Instead of ground beef, I used Yves veggie ground round. I added 1/2 green pepper, diced & 1 can of black beans as well.....I didn't drain either beans or the corn. Just open the cans & dump in the pot. Ladle soup into a bowl & crush some tortillas on top. This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by da_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States