Becca's Custom Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Ok so I don't know if I can really review this recipe because I TOTALLY changed it! LOL! But it still turned out really good because I used the recipe as a base. I skipped the crust to start. I used fresh green beans (steamed them for 5-7 minutes then threw them in the skillet with everything else), celery, carrots and towards the end of the skilleting, added most of a can of corn (so no zucchini or mushrooms - we don't like them). Otherwise, I did everything the same - I just added a little more thyme and also some Italian seasoning. I'd say the cheese layer is a must - it was so yummy. Oh and be careful not to make the potato topping too thick. Overall, fantastic meal that we both loved!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe has become a staple at my house- and my family typically doesn't care for Shepherds Pie! It goes together easily and is just as good reheated. Thanks, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was delicious! And a great way to incorporate lots of garden veggies. I didn't bother with the pie crust, and I did mix in a teaspoon of chicken boullion into the meat mixture for extra flavor. I mixed all the veggies in with the meat - diced carrots, green beans (steamed for a bit first), diced zucchini. I sprinkled the top with paprika for a decorative touch. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Last year, I prepared this for "Deer Camp" and thought 2 pies would be enough...silly me. It was such a hit that I'm making 6 pies this year for the same number of men (and woman - me)!!! Tasty AND healthy - can't beat that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is awesome! I made it as a make-ahead for a busy day and my family was delighted with it (of course those picky kids with vegetable issues were standoffish!)I am sharing it with all my friends! Thanks Becca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Good pie and it held together nicely. I added dried apricots, almonds and broccoli to the filling and kept the skins on the potatoes. I also just made a white pie crust instead of whole wheat crusts. One tip though is to make sure you drain your meat well because any extra oil will make your pie crust a little soggy. I got ratings from 4 to a five from my family except my younger sisters who aren't big veggie fans gave it a 2 and 3. Everyone agreed that the pie was better than the chicken pot pie we all ate this weekend at my aunt's house. Good, hearty recipe just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
DELICIOUS - a great departure from the standard beef shepherd's pie. Vary the veggies for different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The only thing I really changed is that I added a couple TBSP of flour instead of only one and then added about a cup of chicken broth to make some gravy with the meat and vegetables. That made it really amazing as I looked like it was going to be a little dry. I changed the veggies a bit and used carrots, onions, celery, green beans and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My husband and 3yr old loved it. I did not. He rated it. I would have gave it a 2. I love Mexican and Indian food! A lot of spice, so this was very plain to me. But..if Hubby is happy I am happy!! Thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Yum!! A cross between a pot pie and shepherd pie. With ground turkey, this is awesome. Didn't have Zucchini, and added a little more spice.. but it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States