Becca's Custom Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was good, but I wouldn't say it was great. We cut the pies into 6 slices each, and my husband only ate one slice and he didn't comment on it at all. I ate two pieces, I liked it, but had a hard time getting my 10 year old to eat his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by RobinM
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Easy recipe to make. But wish there was more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I did this recipe without making it a pie, i.e., no crust, for it to be a bit healthier. I also added green and red peppers. I only used 1/2 tbsp of butter total. I used 3/4 cup green beans and would probably use more the next time. I will definitely be making this again. Perhaps with a little less potatoes and more meat and veggies. Thanks for the idea for me to branch off on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
It was good. Not great. I made as directed but nixed the green beans and left skins on my potatoes. I think my main complaint would be that it was really dry. I think I will make this again but I will actually add a little broth or something (I didn't have anything to drain since my ground turkey was almost fat free) to make it a bit saucy. And cook the zucchini a bit because I didn't really like crunching them. It's a really good start but for us- needs a few tweaks. I did use a whole wheat pie crust but I made it myself. I actually think I'd prefer a white one here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The only thing I really changed is that I added a couple TBSP of flour instead of only one and then added about a cup of chicken broth to make some gravy with the meat and vegetables. That made it really amazing as I looked like it was going to be a little dry. I changed the veggies a bit and used carrots, onions, celery, green beans and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My husband and 3yr old loved it. I did not. He rated it. I would have gave it a 2. I love Mexican and Indian food! A lot of spice, so this was very plain to me. But..if Hubby is happy I am happy!! Thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I love this recipe. I do not eat white potatoes as a rule, so I use sweet potatoes and what ever veggies I have on hand. Its easy and it freezes well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Good pie and it held together nicely. I added dried apricots, almonds and broccoli to the filling and kept the skins on the potatoes. I also just made a white pie crust instead of whole wheat crusts. One tip though is to make sure you drain your meat well because any extra oil will make your pie crust a little soggy. I got ratings from 4 to a five from my family except my younger sisters who aren't big veggie fans gave it a 2 and 3. Everyone agreed that the pie was better than the chicken pot pie we all ate this weekend at my aunt's house. Good, hearty recipe just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Yum!! A cross between a pot pie and shepherd pie. With ground turkey, this is awesome. Didn't have Zucchini, and added a little more spice.. but it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I substituted green beans and mushroom with corn and cauliflower. The left over Thanksgiving turkey was used so a little extra butter was needed to keep it moist. A very good recipe. Thanks Becca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States