Beautiful Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I am the original poster of this recipe, and I wanted to add that I often add a crunchy green such as romaine along with the spinach, and I sometimes add thinly sliced fresh mushrooms. We tried the blush wine vinaigrette as one reviewer suggested, and it was very good, but we still prefer the depth of flavor and punch the balsamic vinaigrette provides. Thanks for all the positive comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYINTEXAS

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My honey said it was the best salad he has ever had. I made it ahead of time and added the cheese just before serving. Thanks! I will be making this one alot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was wonderful! It was such a nice break from regular salad, it was light but very filling with the nuts and cranberries. I added romaine lettuce for a different texture, and used sugared almonds instead of honey roasted ones. We served it at a dinner party with the Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing (found on this site) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Very nice salad, and pretty presentation. I used raspberry vinigarette the first time, which was good but I'm not crazy about how sweet it was. I would recommend blue cheese crumbles and balsamic vinegarette dressing to go more 'tangy' than sweet. I'll be making this a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I just tried this salad but upped the serving for 12 people for our Thanksgiving meal. I made only three slight changes, I used toffee flavered sliced almonds,used baby spinach with red lettuce to add more color,then to top it off we used Brianna's Blush Wine Vinaigrette (that was the key ingredient). It was the hit of the meal, plus there wasn't any left. Everyone loved it. It will now be our signature salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Boy was this good. Even my 8 yr old granddaughter couldn't get enough (I didn't tell her it was spinach). All the ingredients went so well together. I couldn't find honey-roasted sliced almonds so I used honey-roasted cashews and chopped them. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I make this all the time and it is great. You will always get rave reviews when serving and you can vary it greatly. I like blue cheese and toasted walnuts best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is a wonderfully refreshing and filling salad! We make it all the time now. One thing we like to add to make it more of a meal is cubed baked chicken. It's great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was a huge hit when we brought it to a dinner party, and I have to admit it's one of the top salads I've ever had. Served with Kraft raspberry vinaigrette and homemade honey-roasted almonds. We were unable to locate honey-roasted almonds at the store so we made our own: - 1 cup slivered almonds, toasted in oven for 30 minutes at 300 degrees - Stir the roasted almonds into a saucepan that contains 1 tbsp honey, 1tbsp oil, 1 tbsp water until liquid disappears - Toss in a mixture of 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Near

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
a fantastic salad. i subtituted ground walnuts because that is all that was in the pantry. next time, i'll choose whole walnuts instead. i used a balsamic dijon dressing that complimented this perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States