Beaufort Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Got brave and made this for the first time for a large summer dinner party. It was so easy and PERFECT! Everyone loved it - even the picky teenagers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
my family eats this all the time! this time we use Johnsonville Polish Sausage which was amazing! nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I agree the recipe needs tweaking but we loved it! I boiled the potatoes for about 15 minutes before adding the sausage for about 5 minutes, then added fresh corn for 5 minutes in the meantime adding crab legs and shrimp for 2-3 minutes to finish. In hindsight my pot was a little small (I ended up having to fish out the potatoes and corn to make room for the seafood), and I should have left the crab legs in a tad bit longer to heat. Also, although I used the full 3 ounces of boil mix it still needed salt. This was fantastic and easy! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennmarie25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Amazing! I also added the corn after the potatoes were done and it came out perfect. The flavor was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Love this. Many ways to gild this lily. Someone already mentioned cooking it in beer, someone else mentioned using crab legs. Clams and craw fish work really well, but the ultimate is to substitute Maine lobsters for the shrimp. please ignore the idea of using cut corn. You're going to want to cook it in a pot with a strainer, and chicken?! We've enjoyed it most every way mentioned and at least one in the town of Frogmore from whence it originated. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
we cook with mushrooms and also the dollar bag o shrimp at walmart works good just add last min and i put butter on my vegetables .. add alot of smoke sausage thats our favorite infact im making right now here in sc lol hugs kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
We calculated this recipe for 40 people (we had 35). We believed it to be too skimpy on the ingredients, so we used 6 lbs of sausage (not 5); 70 fresh corn pieces cut 2 inches (not 50 pieces); 70 small potatoes (not 50); 20 oz of spice (not 15) and 10 lbs of shrimp ( not 7.5) and jumbo size not large. Shrimp and corn proved to be adequate; potatoes and sausage were gone (ran out). We altered preparation based on past experience. Here's our approach. We put the seasoning in boiling water, and added the potatoes and cooked them until a fork test showed that they were almost done. Then, we added the sausage and corn at the same time, and cooked about ten minutes. We then added the shrimp and cooked for two to three minutes. We lifted the basket out of the pot, poured the "stew" into a deep serving pan and served, and our guests raved on and on about it. The potatoes were done, the corn and sausage were just right and the shrimp were sweet and juicy and not over cooked. The ingredients in the recipe were just right; however, the proportions were a bit off, as indicated above. And we believe that the placement of all of the ingredients into the water (except for the shrimp) as this recipe calls for would result in undercooked potatoes or over cooked corn and sausage. These are the reasons for the rating we gave (three stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love Beaufort, SC. Very quaint and friendly. Its like a miniature Charleston. I like the sounds of your recipe. Very much like New England coastal towns recipes. This one sounds very easy to do, and I know I will like it. Thanks so much from, Janine Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was in the Air Force Reserves in Charleston, SC and cooked this many times for our unit. The most we cooked for was 500 people! We used the large bag of Zatarans shrimp and crab boil and everyone loved the taste it added. For a large group we used the following formula. This is a per person calculation so just multiply the number of people times each of the items and it works out great. 1/2 pound shrimp 1/2 pound sausage (we used Andouille or smoked Kielbasa) 1 ear of corn 1 potato (or 3 to 4 small red potatoes) 1 large onion Served with sweet tea or ice cold beer!!! We used the pour over newspaper on picnic tables method of serving. Be sure to put out plenty of rolls of paper towels to use for napkins. This is the low country at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yea, I also cooked the potatoes for about 20 minutes before, added shrimp and corn last. Substituted Old Bay or Pappy's Seasoning (thought I had Old Bay but didn't), also added Onion Powder, Salt, Pepper, No Salt Seasoning and this turned out GREATTT! My boyfriend (who is picky by the way) loved it and told me to definitely save that recipe, so this was definitely a biggggg Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States