Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This recipe is incredibly quick and easy and has become one of my stand-bys! It's also very flexible - I've made lemon and lime cakes by changing the juice and zest. I've also eliminated the juice and increased the milk to make a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I've made this cake at least 6 times--and have changed it every time. The best adaption? Substitute half the sugar for honey, and 1/2 c. flour for 1/2 c. ground almonds. Add 1 t. almond extract to the batter. As a vegan I also use egg replacer and mix in extra OJ instead of water for the replacer and double the amount of zest. It always gets raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I made this cake for my husbands birthday. But before I did I checked the reviews, some mentioned it didn't have enough orange flavor. So what I did was added more orange zest, but what I think made it perfect was the 2 1/2 tablespoons of Grand Marnier (an orange liquer). I imagine you can use orange extract but I didn't have it. It was absolutely delicious. It baked so well, to a golden brown. I will never make a boxed cake again! I used an old Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting recipe of my mothers, it was awesome. My husband was in heaven, told me how yummy it was with every bith he took. Two thumbs up, Excellent! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I found this cake to be absolutely delicious! I made a loaf cake in a loaf pan. It was absolutely great! I didn't make the icing though, as I found an even better recipe. A recipe intitled "Orange Loaf" by Carol is a recipe for a yummy orange bread AND an orange glaze. I used the glaze recipe instead of icing and it turned out amazing!:) Less fat too! The recipe is: Combine 1/2 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup sugar in a small saucepan. Heat and stir to dissolve sugar. Spoon glaze over hot cake. Let stand in pan for 10 minutes before removing cake from pan. I also garnished the top with halved orange rounds. It looked beautiful! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I tryed this recipe last night. I added a little more orange zest. It was a really good recipe. I made it for my parents and they loved it. I also made it in a bundt pan it turned out really good. Thank you for this recipe I will for sure make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made this cake in the loaf pan and sprinkled powered sugar after it had cooled. It was delicious! Nice and light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was the best cake I have had in a long time, I added extra zest and OJ to the cake and I added a little extra zest to the frosting which turned out to be more of a glaze then a frosting but that was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I converted this to a vegan recipe by using enerG egg replacer , soy yogurt in place of the milk and turbinado sugar instead of white sugar .to this I added 1 cup craisins ,1/2 cup of chopped toasted pecans and 2 ounces of coarsely chopped vegan white chocolate . Baked in a bundt pan this cake was a huge hit at my husbands birthday party with everyone and 2 people left with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNSU
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Wonderful, easy and the FROSTING IS superb! My friends rate that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
My husband loved it! I used Mandarine orange peel zest, and it gave the cake a lovely subtle tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States