Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by cyberpeasant
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did a quadruple batch for a huge double layered cake, and this recipe's good, it is very moist due to the oil/milk base, and you can add as much zest you want, but try to get unwaxed oranges. Also different varieties of oranges will give you different results. I used half the sugar because my frosting will compensate for sweetness. The best is to let the cake rest until the next day, I find it tastes alot more of orange (also works for other citrus loafes). Thank's for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
There are not enough stars to rate this recipe....soooo moist and delicious and i didnt even make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This turned out to be good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow! Great cake :)The only flour I had in the house was whole wheat and unbleached, so I used about half & half for this recipe. I did sift it after measuring it. I also used whole milk plain yogurt for the milk. Topped it with an orange glaze rather than frosting. Cake is moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Awesome! Lovely orange flavor. I made 2 8-inch rounds, and used the orange buttercream in this recipe as the layer between the 2 cakes with some sliced strawberries. I then frosted with a regular white buttercream icing - yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
A new favorite at our house!! I used orange juice concentrate in the frosting, instead of the juice and zest. It was VERY orange and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Absolutely Awesome! Perfect as is. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
So delicious and easy. I baked mine in a 9x13 pan for about 32 minutes and topped it with an orange buttercream frosting. All together, the recipe calls for about 2 oranges for the cake and I used an additional orange for the frosting. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideshowoddity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a delicious, simple recipe but you MUST add cream cheese or other ingredient for moisture. I made this recipe the first time and everyone said it was too dry. The second (and third and twentieth) time I added about 3 ounces of cream cheese to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States