Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Our family's favourite cake! My husband and son can never get enough. Sometimes I buy a cake for some special ocassions like birthday.My husband always says then that he wish I baked the orange cake. I made it so many times, and it always turns out great. I follow the receipe exacly most of the time, but sometimes I add a little orange extract, and sometimes I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I really think that coconut oil adds interesting touch to the cake. If you have it, use it. You will love it. And I really like "working" the cake from sctratch, without any boxed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is the best orange cake I have ever tried. It was sooooo moist and delicious. I did add extra grated rind to both the cake and the icing as well as some of the orange pulp to the cake. Yummo!!!! I will make this over and over again. I remembered this flavour when my mother made an orange cake and this was very close to that. Brought back some great memories. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Tasty cake. After reading the reviews, I used sour cream isntead of milk and the cake wasn't dry at all. Also used whole orange zest and bit more fresh orange juice than called for. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and used orange glaze rather than the regular icing. Though probably not often, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made this for my grandmas birthday and we had all my family over ! They all loved it!!! I did have to add a little bit more orange but it was worth it !!! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This cake is delicious! I make it every time there are a lot of oranges to use up. I use an orange glaze instead of the icing though and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratatouille22

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This cake is SO GOOD ! Very Moist--I made cupcakes--the batter made (18) regular size cupcakes. Instead of Orange Zest--I used a natural-Orange Bakery Emulsion--which has the taste and smell of fresh picked oranges. I made a homemade orange butter cream frosting which really added to the great orange cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this cake in a springform pan so it was a thick, single layer. It was nicely done in a 350 oven in 25 minutes. To compensate for the extra height, I made an orange syrup (1/2 cup o.j. with 1/4 cup granulated sugar simmered for 7 minutes) to top the cake before icing. I used a skewer to poke many, many holes and while hot, slowly poured the syrup over. When completely cooled, I covered the top with a nicely thick layer of buttercream. I prefer buttercream icing to have some sour cream in it, so I added 2T of it while leaving out 2T of the butter. It gives an ordinary icing a little edge. All in all, a good cake. I was proud to serve and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was simply incredible. I used freshly squeezed orange juice, used half brown sugar and half white, upped the orange zest, and added a dash of orange essence. Simply fantastic! Also added a dash of the orange essence to the icing. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This cake was all that it claimed to be! It was easy and tasted really good. I didn't use the frosting b/c we are (trying) to be a little healthy, so I simply used the juice from the zested orange, added 1/4 cup more of bottled oj, 2 tbs of sugar and boiled it down to make a glaze. I added a tsp of cold butter and brushed it on the cake. It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I substituted water for milk and use less sugar 3/4 of a cup,and the result was fluffy dough ok here is how a I made it. 1 Beat eggs and sugar til fluffy. 2 Add oil slowly 3 Add all the dry ingredients {flour, baking powder and salt} 4 Add the liquids and voila there you got the best cake!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States