Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the simple and delicious recipe. I'm very pleased for the result. Even my husband, for the first time he likes the cake I make. And for the frosting I used melted chocolate mixed with icing sugar because I didn't make the cake sweet enough plus my daughter loves chocolate frosting. At the end it looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The only reason I am giving this cake a 4 star instead of 5 is because I used a special ingredient in mine. I substituted the oil for some speshial blood orange olive oil. Awwww...So good! So it amped up the orange flavoring. But I am sure it would be really good without the orange oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
wonderful! but it was done in 20 minutes, not 35 so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used a vanilla frosting for the filling, and added mandarin oranges so when cutting into the cake you had a surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
After a friend gave this recipe very good reviews, I made it for myself and I was NOT disappointed. The cake is delicious. I did sub buttermilk for the milk and add a TBS Grand Marnier to the batter and then made cupcakes (baked for 18-20 minutes at 350 degrees F). To make your regular granulated sugar superfine, pulse in food processor a few times. Using superfine will allow the sugar to dissolve better. The cake is light and moist with a nice orange flavor...not overpowering, but just lightly there. I also added a TBS of Grand Marnier to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My daughter asked me to make this cake for her birthday. Everyone loved it! I made it as written except I cut the recipe in half because I didn't want to make a layer cake. I still used the full amount of orange zest because other reviewers said it needed more orange flavor. The only other thing I changed was to add 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract. I didn't make the frosting, but used Cool Whip instead with some extra orange zest on top because I wanted to keep it light. This cake had the perfect amount of orange flavor! It was just what I hoped it would be...light and refreshing! Thank you Menling for a great easy cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flyfshrgrl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My niece wanted an orange cupcakes for her birthday. Having never made an orange cake recipe, I read several recipes and chose this one. The instructions are easy to follow; the ingredients blend very well together; the prep time is very accurate. I baked 12 regular-sized cupcakes and 24 mini-cupcakes for 15 minutes at 350°F, and they turned out beautifully. Since I was baking the recipe as cupcakes, I did not substitute with pudding or sour cream, but if I bake this as a cake, I the substitution, because I can see where some dryness might occur. We have several diabetics in our family, and so I made an even substitution of Truvia for sugar, and no one could tell the difference. I left several of the cupcakes un-iced, and I thought those were better. I followed the icing recipe, but it never set and was extremely sweet. I thought the icing overpowered the cupcakes, and I could not eat the iced ones. I have added the cake recipe to my box, but I will keep looking for a complementary icing recipe. The icing is what kept me from giving this overall recipe five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyfshrgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Really a nice cake, nice and light. I used spenda/sugar mix and used more than a tablespoon of orange zest. Baked at 325 in a 9x13 for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Really easy and delicious! I used zest from two oranges, added a half cup sour cream and sliced almonds. My roommates loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made these into cupcakes. I used a little more orange zest (about 1 tbsp.). They had a really nice orange flavor but were a little dry. I will make a cake with the recipe next time to see if that takes care of the dryness. The frosting was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States