Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
We LOVE orange flavored anything. I've had this recipe in my RB for some time and when I decided to make Real Strawberry Frosting using oranges in place of strawberries, I knew this would be the recipe. It's really good, in fact, it's very good! The orange flavor comes through and it's still light and cake-like. I half anticipated it would be a little bit heavier than it was. Most difinately a keeper, I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe was awesome. Great texture, light and fluffy. The only thing I changed was I doubled the orange zest and added 2 tsp of orange extract. (I really like a strong orange flavour). Made this with alternating layers of chocolate orange cake, chocolate orange cream cheese icing and Contreau Chocolate ganache. Divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used 1 T. of zest, and juiced oranges for the orange juice (added a little extra juice since it was not as strong as store orange juice). Maybe next time I'll try the orange marmalade, but I thought it was great with just the fresh orange juice. I also think the frosting is great. It's a really nice lunch-time or tea-time sort of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful cake!! Im rating it on the cake alone Delicious! An so Moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
DELISH cake, Mening! Fresh squeezed oj gave superb flavour. Not necessary, but I did add a full tsp of orange zest a 1 tsp of orange extract to cake. Mom who is a superb Dessert baker loved it, too. Her helpful tip: always sift flour before you measure for cakes etc. Also, please watch the baking time as mine cooked under 35 mins. Thank you for a superb Orange Cake & Icing that melts in your mouth . . . so much so I couldn't stop eating it last night LOL. This one will be added to our family's recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for my fiance´s bday and I usually never take the risk of trying a new recipe for a special ocassion. I´m really glad I did. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was concerned about moisture, so the only thing I changed was I added half the milk and the other half yoghurt. I also made it in a bundt pan. It was done in 30 mins. I also made the frosting, it´s really good, but a tad too sweet for my taste. Still would make the frosting again, but maybe a bit less powdered sugar. Refrigerated overnight and it was great. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Pretty good. It had the texture of an angel food or sponge cake without all of the work! I didn't have orange zest so just added a splash of orange extract. Also I was taking this to an outdoor BBQ & didn't want to mess with frosting so just made a quick glaze with 2/3 c. OJ, 1/3 c. Sugar, and a splash each of vanilla & orange extract heated just until sugar disolved. I poked some holes in the cake and dumped in on top. Then topped with thawed, pureed frozen raspberries. Super Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I forgot to add additional cream (either in the form of cream cheese or sour cream, as I usually do for cake recipes to maintain a moist consistency), so it did come out drier than I would've liked, but even still it was delicious. I used almost 2 full T of zest and the 1/2 cup of juice for the batter and still think it could've used a little more kick - but the icing really did the trick. I followed the instructions listed, but instead of 6T of butter, I used three. I still added the same amount of juice, sugar and vanilla, but used a heaping 1T of zest, and then mixed all of that with whipped cream to help balance out the taste and make a lighter consistency. It was perfect for this cake. I started out mixing about a cup of whipped cream and then just kept tasting it until I was happy with it. It ended up making enough to cover both cakes, though I didn't put a huge amount on each. It was just a thick layer to cover the top. The last thing I added was coconut - I just sprinkled it all over on top of the icing. Along with the orange flavor, it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Our family's favourite cake! My husband and son can never get enough. Sometimes I buy a cake for some special ocassions like birthday.My husband always says then that he wish I baked the orange cake. I made it so many times, and it always turns out great. I follow the receipe exacly most of the time, but sometimes I add a little orange extract, and sometimes I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I really think that coconut oil adds interesting touch to the cake. If you have it, use it. You will love it. And I really like "working" the cake from sctratch, without any boxed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is the best orange cake I have ever tried. It was sooooo moist and delicious. I did add extra grated rind to both the cake and the icing as well as some of the orange pulp to the cake. Yummo!!!! I will make this over and over again. I remembered this flavour when my mother made an orange cake and this was very close to that. Brought back some great memories. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States