Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was fabulous. It reminds me of Sara Lee orange cake that I used to eat as a child (no baking occurred in our house, even though my mother was an excellent cook). I mad half the recipe because there were only three of us, and it was just perfect, with some left over for the rest of the week. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Musica
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This cake turned out to be very dry. We served it with homemade whipped cream and it was a little bit better. Also, It really did not have a great orange flavor. I suggest using a little more orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Really good, for those who find that it doesn't taste very much like orange, did they try the oranges before??, sometimes you can find tasteless oranges, but with the right fruit, this cake is the best, with or without icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malenloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Lovely cake, have make it over and over again. Very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
i'm been looking for a recipe like this forever. i've finally found it!! thank you! this so easy and so good!!! the only thing i did different was add 1 tsp extra of orange zest in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is a very good cake. To the batter I added the zest of one orange, 1 tsp of orange extract and 2oz of cream cheese (afraid it would be dry based on other reviews). As a result, this was a 5-star cake! The flavor was fabulous and it was soooooo moist! I baked it in a bundt pan generously sprayed with Baker's Joy for 45 minutes and it released beautifully. Just beautifully. I didn't use the frosting, instead I glazed it. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I liked this reminded me of my grandma's cake and the only reason rating the four is not crazy about the frosting will try another one from site next time. was a hit in our family. thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I found this cake to be wonderful. Although when I first made it I used the two round pans. When I took the cake out of the oven I was shocked to see it was not even close to being the size of a normal cake. I thought for sure I did something wrong. I used the icing recipe and it was just wonderful. I also made the loaf cake thinking the other would not be enough. For the loaf cake I used a glaze of 1/2 oj and 1/4 c. of white sugar heat till the sugar disolves. I then poured it over the cake and let it sit for about 30 minutes. I was great. So if your going to make the round cake double the recipe. Still can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe is fabulous just as is, but I wanted it to have a little more orange flavor and be just a tad moister so I added 1 11oz can of mandarin oranges that I chopped fine and drained well. It turned out great! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My family and myself really enjoy your recipe. Thank you very much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States