Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Last week I made the Orange Yogurt Bread on this site and thought it was wonderful and gave it a glowing review. Last night I made the Beat and Bake Orange Cake. I prefer this recipe and the frosting is so good, it really makes makes this cake. The only change I made was to substitute orange yogurt for the milk. I felt it gave the tang that an orange cake should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very good! My whole family really enjoys this cake. It's very fresh and unique, but mine was pretty dense and heavy. If you're doubling the recipe, don't double the icing! I have a lot left over now... :) I can promise you it will be a hit with your families. Have a great summer, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
What a delightful cake!!! I "upped" the orange zest in the cake part to heaping tablespoon and the same amount for the frosting. I would have to say that even a little more zest in the cake portion would not be overpowering. It is such a beautiful "sun-shiny" cake---it just screams HOT SUMMER DAY!! I refrigerated mine and served it slightly cold--very refreshing! I am an orange cake fan and this one has really won me over! Will make it again and again!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would give it more stars if I could. OMG, it was so good. The frosting was to die for! I did add more orange zest to it than it called for though:) For the cake I used splenda instead of sugar and no one seemed to notice. Out of the 10 deserts at our easter celebration, it was the only one without a crub left. Thanks for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
LOVED this recipe! Did make some minor changes...used whole wheat flour, raw sugar and fresh squeezed orange juice vs store bought. Also had to add a bit more OJ than recipe called for for frosting, but WOW, how tasty! For Easter, I made egg shaped mini cakes and they came out perfect! I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand..YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christina28792
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was excellent! I baked for 35 minutes at 325 in a 9x13 pan. I added a little extra zest to both the batter and the frosting. I also added some sour cream to the batter. Even with the extra zest, it was not too "orangey". I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina28792

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this cake today !! Very much excellent. Thanks a ton for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This cake received rave reviews. I did follow some of the advice given by other members, however, and added 1 and 1/2 Tbsp. orange zest and 2 Tbsp. orange marmalade. Additionally, instead of using the suggested glaze, I prepared a chocolate sourcream frosting, as suggested by one member. This cake was gobbled up and had a perfect texture, yet I would recommend that anyone preparing it increase the amount of orange flavour. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great cake!!Moist, creamy and awesomely orangey!! I added orange marmalade and extra zest to the batter. For the frosting, I added 1/4-1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I also added a bit of marmalade and no zest. And, I used orange juice with pulp !! I felt the cake would do well without the frosting!! thanks! >>> UPDATE 28/12/2010 I love this cake. This time I didn't add any zest in the batter/frosting (forgot!!). But did add 3 teaspoons of bitter orange marmalade to the batter and 1 teaspoon marmalade to the frosting. Also added 1.5teaspoon orange extract to the batter and 1 teaspoon to the frosting. And this time, I used orange juice with no pulp (coz that's what I had on hand). This does take me more than 35 minutes to reach perfection. I made this in a Christmas tree tin and used the frosting to look like snow. Not too sweet and a fab change after the sweets/candies and chocolates of the Christmas season. Loved by one and all! Thanks Mau! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Serviceable, ordinary cake by directions, only AWESOME with addition of spices... which is why three stars. It's a basic yellow cake recipe (compare it to Cake Mixes from Scratch on here, it's close!) with natural orange flavor and a glaze. Biggest deviation I made was NO GLAZE. It's just extra sticky sugar calories, and I just wanted a nice "snacky" orange cake. Minor(?) changes I made was substituting the 1/2c orange juice with four whole (peeled, separated and mashed) clementine oranges, and bumped up the amount of zest (I used the zest from all four clementines). All that fruit pulp (hooray for dietary fiber!) meant that I could use less oil... yay... lower fat too! Only a splash instead of a 1/2 cup. ESSENTIAL awesome-ness changes... add SPICES! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and Cardamom, which a lot of folks may not have in their cabinet. (I bought my first jar a few weeks ago - it's expensive, but delicious in any fruit flavored bakery item, and pork, of all things!) Pumpkin Pie Spice mix or Allspice would also work. Boy, did this cake turn out well! The BF and I ate half the bundt as evening (dessert) snack. If we hadn't restrained ourselves - we would have eaten the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States