Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by christina28792
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was excellent! I baked for 35 minutes at 325 in a 9x13 pan. I added a little extra zest to both the batter and the frosting. I also added some sour cream to the batter. Even with the extra zest, it was not too "orangey". I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina28792

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this cake today !! Very much excellent. Thanks a ton for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This cake received rave reviews. I did follow some of the advice given by other members, however, and added 1 and 1/2 Tbsp. orange zest and 2 Tbsp. orange marmalade. Additionally, instead of using the suggested glaze, I prepared a chocolate sourcream frosting, as suggested by one member. This cake was gobbled up and had a perfect texture, yet I would recommend that anyone preparing it increase the amount of orange flavour. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great cake!!Moist, creamy and awesomely orangey!! I added orange marmalade and extra zest to the batter. For the frosting, I added 1/4-1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I also added a bit of marmalade and no zest. And, I used orange juice with pulp !! I felt the cake would do well without the frosting!! thanks! >>> UPDATE 28/12/2010 I love this cake. This time I didn't add any zest in the batter/frosting (forgot!!). But did add 3 teaspoons of bitter orange marmalade to the batter and 1 teaspoon marmalade to the frosting. Also added 1.5teaspoon orange extract to the batter and 1 teaspoon to the frosting. And this time, I used orange juice with no pulp (coz that's what I had on hand). This does take me more than 35 minutes to reach perfection. I made this in a Christmas tree tin and used the frosting to look like snow. Not too sweet and a fab change after the sweets/candies and chocolates of the Christmas season. Loved by one and all! Thanks Mau! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Serviceable, ordinary cake by directions, only AWESOME with addition of spices... which is why three stars. It's a basic yellow cake recipe (compare it to Cake Mixes from Scratch on here, it's close!) with natural orange flavor and a glaze. Biggest deviation I made was NO GLAZE. It's just extra sticky sugar calories, and I just wanted a nice "snacky" orange cake. Minor(?) changes I made was substituting the 1/2c orange juice with four whole (peeled, separated and mashed) clementine oranges, and bumped up the amount of zest (I used the zest from all four clementines). All that fruit pulp (hooray for dietary fiber!) meant that I could use less oil... yay... lower fat too! Only a splash instead of a 1/2 cup. ESSENTIAL awesome-ness changes... add SPICES! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and Cardamom, which a lot of folks may not have in their cabinet. (I bought my first jar a few weeks ago - it's expensive, but delicious in any fruit flavored bakery item, and pork, of all things!) Pumpkin Pie Spice mix or Allspice would also work. Boy, did this cake turn out well! The BF and I ate half the bundt as evening (dessert) snack. If we hadn't restrained ourselves - we would have eaten the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The cake itself was perfect-- not too sweet, light but moist, neither dense nor crumbly. I'm not a big fan of the icing/frosting, though. Aside from being too sweet, I thought the flavor was a bit off, and the cake actually tasted better without it. I'll keep looking around for a better frosting, but I'm definitely keeping the cake recipe. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was fabulous. It reminds me of Sara Lee orange cake that I used to eat as a child (no baking occurred in our house, even though my mother was an excellent cook). I mad half the recipe because there were only three of us, and it was just perfect, with some left over for the rest of the week. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Musica
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This cake turned out to be very dry. We served it with homemade whipped cream and it was a little bit better. Also, It really did not have a great orange flavor. I suggest using a little more orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Really good, for those who find that it doesn't taste very much like orange, did they try the oranges before??, sometimes you can find tasteless oranges, but with the right fruit, this cake is the best, with or without icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malenloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Lovely cake, have make it over and over again. Very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States