Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
So far I've only tried the batter, I made it double to top a another double batter choclate cake for a HUGE cake... the batter was so yummy!! and I didn't even put any zest cuz I didn't have fresh oranges... can't wait to try it done.... The consistency of the batter was beautiful, and fluffed up so nicely... let's see how it turns out ;) Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I read the reviews I added a extra drizzle of canola oil. Or about a1/8 cup more to the 1/2 cup stated. I used the zest of 2 navel oranges 2 tbs in cake 1 in the frosting and sprinkled on top of the frosting. I added4oz of cream cheese to butter cream icing. Use real butter. I thought the layers were a little thi I may increase it by50.percent next time. It was moist and deiish. The whole house smelled wonderful.Add tony favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Me my husband And girls loved it. Yet next time I will mix all purpose flour with whole grain and will do without the frosting for a healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The frosting is AWESOME!!! Great with fresh strawberries, too! The cake is good, but I agree with other reviews...it does need more orange flavor. Next time I make this I will definitely bump up the citrus in the cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angimima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pushpa
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
ITS so moist n perfect. Less greasy . its my 3rd time baking ths cake . instead of orange i can add cocoa powder to make choc cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My husband brought home some oranges from his co-workers tree. I made this recipe into cupcakes and they came out fantastic! I did increase the amount of orange zest and brushed the tops of the cooling cupcakes with a mixture of Frangelico liquer and orange oil. They were light and moist with just the right amount of orange flavor. I sprinkled toasted chopped almonds over the frosting and my husband went nuts for them, and he is not a dessert person at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used one cup of ground roasted hazelnuts in place of one of the cups of flour, and doubled the amount of orange zest and orange juice. Added half a cup of coconut flour, which is a great cake flour (very fine, like cake flour). RAVE reviews. I will definitely make this again. (I also used freshly squeezed orange juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the simple and delicious recipe. I'm very pleased for the result. Even my husband, for the first time he likes the cake I make. And for the frosting I used melted chocolate mixed with icing sugar because I didn't make the cake sweet enough plus my daughter loves chocolate frosting. At the end it looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The only reason I am giving this cake a 4 star instead of 5 is because I used a special ingredient in mine. I substituted the oil for some speshial blood orange olive oil. Awwww...So good! So it amped up the orange flavoring. But I am sure it would be really good without the orange oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
wonderful! but it was done in 20 minutes, not 35 so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States