Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PJ4UK
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I would give this 3.5 to 4 stars. It is good and the recipe is very easy... The frosting is really good (did I even have to say that? LOL) It is a bit dryer than I like, but some of the reviews have solutions for that. I meant to add the sour cream, but forgot it. The taste is good, but I did use the zest from two whole oranges and used a third in the frosting and the rest in the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is a delicious cake with a light and fluffy texture. The flavor is perfect and it's just sweet enough. I actually like it best without frosting and will be making this again without a doubt. Note: I didn't have superfine sugar on hand, so I substituted regular granulated sugar and found the texture to be great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISASH

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
So quick, easy and tasty. Here's how it was changed (hoping to reduce caloric intake): Halved the recipe, using two large eggs, a bit of Grand Marnier with the OJ, and only 1/2 cup sugar. I like sweets, but nothing overly sweet and don't care much for frosting either. Baked them in a cupcake pan, using 1/4 cup measure, which made 10 nice sized cupcakes. Used the convection oven at 325 for 25 mins., then dusted powdered sugar on top. Perfectly wonderful sweet for me; this will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was THE MOST awesome scratch cake that I have ever baked. Orange is my favorite EVERYTHING! This cake is worth the baking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is the only birthday cake that my very fussy daughter actually liked! We've tried red velvet with cream cheese icing, Betty Crocker chocolate with buttercream icing, chocolate sponge cake with fondant and buttercream, a biscuit crumb topped cheesecake, and now finally this lovely moist orangey cake was the winner. After discovering that her favourite ice cream was a Solero - like an orange creamsicle - I was keen to find an orange & vanilla flavoured cake. This was a hit for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
delicious cake! Very moist! I added orange segments from one orange and two drops of Doterra wild orange drops!! Husband loved it!! If you ice it with whipped cream and cream cheese it pops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was amazing because it bring so much flavor to it and it so moist so i made to 13x13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJ Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I thought there is too much sugar with the sugar in the orange juice, I used a bunt cake pan, the cake got stuck in the pan, I grease the bunt pan good. I set my oven for 325 degrees. Had to add more orange juice to frosting cut down on the butter. I wanted the frosting towards a orange glaze for the cake. The cake had a good orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Mmmmmmmmmmm I do this every week!! Soooooo glad I found this! 1000000000 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I have never even heard of an orange cake before i made this, and I am so glad i tried something new. If you love oranges(my family does) then you will love this cake. For the orange juice, i did use fresh squeezed and i think that really added to the fresh orange flavor. Im recommending this recipe to anyone who likes cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States