Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Oh my goodness, I am SO glad I looked for a recipe today to use up a bunch of oranges! What a wonderful, lovely, delicious cake! I took a few suggestions from other reviewers and the result was perfect. I used 1 T. of zest and about 2 T. orange marmalade in the batter (tho' I don't know that the marmalade was really necessary). I made the cake in two 8-inch layers, and made the frosting as stated with just a little less vanilla than called for, which made enough to fill and frost the top. The orange flavor came through perfectly, the cake is moist and a beautiful shade of yellow-orange. The frosting is a must in my opinion, creamy and fluffy, and takes this cake over the top. I made this for my husband to take to the office tomorrow, but this cake is staying right here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I found this cake to be absolutely delicious! I made a loaf cake in a loaf pan. It was absolutely great! I didn't make the icing though, as I found an even better recipe. A recipe intitled "Orange Loaf" by Carol is a recipe for a yummy orange bread AND an orange glaze. I used the glaze recipe instead of icing and it turned out amazing!:) Less fat too! The recipe is: Combine 1/2 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup sugar in a small saucepan. Heat and stir to dissolve sugar. Spoon glaze over hot cake. Let stand in pan for 10 minutes before removing cake from pan. I also garnished the top with halved orange rounds. It looked beautiful! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I made this cake for my husbands birthday. But before I did I checked the reviews, some mentioned it didn't have enough orange flavor. So what I did was added more orange zest, but what I think made it perfect was the 2 1/2 tablespoons of Grand Marnier (an orange liquer). I imagine you can use orange extract but I didn't have it. It was absolutely delicious. It baked so well, to a golden brown. I will never make a boxed cake again! I used an old Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting recipe of my mothers, it was awesome. My husband was in heaven, told me how yummy it was with every bith he took. Two thumbs up, Excellent! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is a very good cake. To the batter I added the zest of one orange, 1 tsp of orange extract and 2oz of cream cheese (afraid it would be dry based on other reviews). As a result, this was a 5-star cake! The flavor was fabulous and it was soooooo moist! I baked it in a bundt pan generously sprayed with Baker's Joy for 45 minutes and it released beautifully. Just beautifully. I didn't use the frosting, instead I glazed it. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wilma
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was a great cake recipe. A very moist cake. The only thing that I did different was to use orange, tangerine, and lemon zest in both the cake and the icing. (I like a strong citrus flavor). In the past I have not had good results with your basic cake recipe (they have been a little dry), so I added 1/4 cup of sour cream and a pkg. of lemon jelatin to the cake batter. This definitely made it a moist cake. My husband liked it also and he is not a sweets fan. He really liked the citrus flavor. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. It was great! Wilma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pickens, South Carolina, USA
Photo by christina28792
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was excellent! I baked for 35 minutes at 325 in a 9x13 pan. I added a little extra zest to both the batter and the frosting. I also added some sour cream to the batter. Even with the extra zest, it was not too "orangey". I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina28792

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This cake was excellent.I was surprised howmuch orange flavour came through with just the addition of orange zest and juice.We had it just plain, and all loved it.It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for my fiance´s bday and I usually never take the risk of trying a new recipe for a special ocassion. I´m really glad I did. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was concerned about moisture, so the only thing I changed was I added half the milk and the other half yoghurt. I also made it in a bundt pan. It was done in 30 mins. I also made the frosting, it´s really good, but a tad too sweet for my taste. Still would make the frosting again, but maybe a bit less powdered sugar. Refrigerated overnight and it was great. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Last week I made the Orange Yogurt Bread on this site and thought it was wonderful and gave it a glowing review. Last night I made the Beat and Bake Orange Cake. I prefer this recipe and the frosting is so good, it really makes makes this cake. The only change I made was to substitute orange yogurt for the milk. I felt it gave the tang that an orange cake should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This recipe is incredibly quick and easy and has become one of my stand-bys! It's also very flexible - I've made lemon and lime cakes by changing the juice and zest. I've also eliminated the juice and increased the milk to make a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States