Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Good, easy cake. Take care not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNSU
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Wonderful, easy and the FROSTING IS superb! My friends rate that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Not too impressed with this cake. I was hoping for a good orange flavor from it and was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made this cake in the loaf pan and sprinkled powered sugar after it had cooled. It was delicious! Nice and light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This was the best cake I have had in a long time, I added extra zest and OJ to the cake and I added a little extra zest to the frosting which turned out to be more of a glaze then a frosting but that was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I found this cake to be absolutely delicious! I made a loaf cake in a loaf pan. It was absolutely great! I didn't make the icing though, as I found an even better recipe. A recipe intitled "Orange Loaf" by Carol is a recipe for a yummy orange bread AND an orange glaze. I used the glaze recipe instead of icing and it turned out amazing!:) Less fat too! The recipe is: Combine 1/2 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup sugar in a small saucepan. Heat and stir to dissolve sugar. Spoon glaze over hot cake. Let stand in pan for 10 minutes before removing cake from pan. I also garnished the top with halved orange rounds. It looked beautiful! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I converted this to a vegan recipe by using enerG egg replacer , soy yogurt in place of the milk and turbinado sugar instead of white sugar .to this I added 1 cup craisins ,1/2 cup of chopped toasted pecans and 2 ounces of coarsely chopped vegan white chocolate . Baked in a bundt pan this cake was a huge hit at my husbands birthday party with everyone and 2 people left with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This recipe is incredibly quick and easy and has become one of my stand-bys! It's also very flexible - I've made lemon and lime cakes by changing the juice and zest. I've also eliminated the juice and increased the milk to make a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Very easy, with a good flavor, though not particularly "strong" in my opinion. My guests seemed to like it quite well. I baked it in a bundt pan for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
The cake was quick to make, however i was disappointed that it didn't have the 'orange' flavor i was expecting. I even added more orange zest than originally called for. All in all it was ok and i'll make it again. The icing is more of a glaze that probably works better with bundt cakes than a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweety

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States