Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Overall, I was pleased with the recipe... though I was expecting it to be a bit lighter and fluffier... pretty sure I didn't overbeat it when I mixed it by hand and sifted all the ingredients. It was easy to throw together and did have a nice orange flavor. I made into cupcakes and was able to get 20 regular size from the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A delicious cake and easy to make. I made this for my husband's birthday with a dark chocolate frosting. Chocolate-orange is one of his favorite flavors. He was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this recipe as cupcakes and they were just perfection! The only change I made was added 2 teaspoons of orange zest (original recipe calls for 1 1/2 teaspoons). I filled the muffin tin about 2/3 full, baked for 22 minutes and got 18 perfectly rounded cupcakes. And let's not forget the most important part - absolutely deeeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Grt Cake ! easy to bake . I used orange glaze over the cakes, tastes orangy, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Plays With Scissors
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Holy moly - a GREAT cake. Easy to make and delicious. I served it at Easter and got RAVE reviews. I'll definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I needed a cake fast and I needed it to be delicious! This is a great cake! I'll be making it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cyberpeasant
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did a quadruple batch for a huge double layered cake, and this recipe's good, it is very moist due to the oil/milk base, and you can add as much zest you want, but try to get unwaxed oranges. Also different varieties of oranges will give you different results. I used half the sugar because my frosting will compensate for sweetness. The best is to let the cake rest until the next day, I find it tastes alot more of orange (also works for other citrus loafes). Thank's for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
There are not enough stars to rate this recipe....soooo moist and delicious and i didnt even make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This turned out to be good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow! Great cake :)The only flour I had in the house was whole wheat and unbleached, so I used about half & half for this recipe. I did sift it after measuring it. I also used whole milk plain yogurt for the milk. Topped it with an orange glaze rather than frosting. Cake is moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States