Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My husband brought home some oranges from his co-workers tree. I made this recipe into cupcakes and they came out fantastic! I did increase the amount of orange zest and brushed the tops of the cooling cupcakes with a mixture of Frangelico liquer and orange oil. They were light and moist with just the right amount of orange flavor. I sprinkled toasted chopped almonds over the frosting and my husband went nuts for them, and he is not a dessert person at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used one cup of ground roasted hazelnuts in place of one of the cups of flour, and doubled the amount of orange zest and orange juice. Added half a cup of coconut flour, which is a great cake flour (very fine, like cake flour). RAVE reviews. I will definitely make this again. (I also used freshly squeezed orange juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the simple and delicious recipe. I'm very pleased for the result. Even my husband, for the first time he likes the cake I make. And for the frosting I used melted chocolate mixed with icing sugar because I didn't make the cake sweet enough plus my daughter loves chocolate frosting. At the end it looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The only reason I am giving this cake a 4 star instead of 5 is because I used a special ingredient in mine. I substituted the oil for some speshial blood orange olive oil. Awwww...So good! So it amped up the orange flavoring. But I am sure it would be really good without the orange oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
wonderful! but it was done in 20 minutes, not 35 so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used a vanilla frosting for the filling, and added mandarin oranges so when cutting into the cake you had a surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
After a friend gave this recipe very good reviews, I made it for myself and I was NOT disappointed. The cake is delicious. I did sub buttermilk for the milk and add a TBS Grand Marnier to the batter and then made cupcakes (baked for 18-20 minutes at 350 degrees F). To make your regular granulated sugar superfine, pulse in food processor a few times. Using superfine will allow the sugar to dissolve better. The cake is light and moist with a nice orange flavor...not overpowering, but just lightly there. I also added a TBS of Grand Marnier to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My daughter asked me to make this cake for her birthday. Everyone loved it! I made it as written except I cut the recipe in half because I didn't want to make a layer cake. I still used the full amount of orange zest because other reviewers said it needed more orange flavor. The only other thing I changed was to add 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract. I didn't make the frosting, but used Cool Whip instead with some extra orange zest on top because I wanted to keep it light. This cake had the perfect amount of orange flavor! It was just what I hoped it would be...light and refreshing! Thank you Menling for a great easy cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flyfshrgrl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My niece wanted an orange cupcakes for her birthday. Having never made an orange cake recipe, I read several recipes and chose this one. The instructions are easy to follow; the ingredients blend very well together; the prep time is very accurate. I baked 12 regular-sized cupcakes and 24 mini-cupcakes for 15 minutes at 350°F, and they turned out beautifully. Since I was baking the recipe as cupcakes, I did not substitute with pudding or sour cream, but if I bake this as a cake, I the substitution, because I can see where some dryness might occur. We have several diabetics in our family, and so I made an even substitution of Truvia for sugar, and no one could tell the difference. I left several of the cupcakes un-iced, and I thought those were better. I followed the icing recipe, but it never set and was extremely sweet. I thought the icing overpowered the cupcakes, and I could not eat the iced ones. I have added the cake recipe to my box, but I will keep looking for a complementary icing recipe. The icing is what kept me from giving this overall recipe five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyfshrgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Really a nice cake, nice and light. I used spenda/sugar mix and used more than a tablespoon of orange zest. Baked at 325 in a 9x13 for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States