Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used 1 T. of zest, and juiced oranges for the orange juice (added a little extra juice since it was not as strong as store orange juice). Maybe next time I'll try the orange marmalade, but I thought it was great with just the fresh orange juice. I also think the frosting is great. It's a really nice lunch-time or tea-time sort of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful cake!! Im rating it on the cake alone Delicious! An so Moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
DELISH cake, Mening! Fresh squeezed oj gave superb flavour. Not necessary, but I did add a full tsp of orange zest a 1 tsp of orange extract to cake. Mom who is a superb Dessert baker loved it, too. Her helpful tip: always sift flour before you measure for cakes etc. Also, please watch the baking time as mine cooked under 35 mins. Thank you for a superb Orange Cake & Icing that melts in your mouth . . . so much so I couldn't stop eating it last night LOL. This one will be added to our family's recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for my fiance´s bday and I usually never take the risk of trying a new recipe for a special ocassion. I´m really glad I did. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was concerned about moisture, so the only thing I changed was I added half the milk and the other half yoghurt. I also made it in a bundt pan. It was done in 30 mins. I also made the frosting, it´s really good, but a tad too sweet for my taste. Still would make the frosting again, but maybe a bit less powdered sugar. Refrigerated overnight and it was great. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Pretty good. It had the texture of an angel food or sponge cake without all of the work! I didn't have orange zest so just added a splash of orange extract. Also I was taking this to an outdoor BBQ & didn't want to mess with frosting so just made a quick glaze with 2/3 c. OJ, 1/3 c. Sugar, and a splash each of vanilla & orange extract heated just until sugar disolved. I poked some holes in the cake and dumped in on top. Then topped with thawed, pureed frozen raspberries. Super Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I forgot to add additional cream (either in the form of cream cheese or sour cream, as I usually do for cake recipes to maintain a moist consistency), so it did come out drier than I would've liked, but even still it was delicious. I used almost 2 full T of zest and the 1/2 cup of juice for the batter and still think it could've used a little more kick - but the icing really did the trick. I followed the instructions listed, but instead of 6T of butter, I used three. I still added the same amount of juice, sugar and vanilla, but used a heaping 1T of zest, and then mixed all of that with whipped cream to help balance out the taste and make a lighter consistency. It was perfect for this cake. I started out mixing about a cup of whipped cream and then just kept tasting it until I was happy with it. It ended up making enough to cover both cakes, though I didn't put a huge amount on each. It was just a thick layer to cover the top. The last thing I added was coconut - I just sprinkled it all over on top of the icing. Along with the orange flavor, it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Our family's favourite cake! My husband and son can never get enough. Sometimes I buy a cake for some special ocassions like birthday.My husband always says then that he wish I baked the orange cake. I made it so many times, and it always turns out great. I follow the receipe exacly most of the time, but sometimes I add a little orange extract, and sometimes I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I really think that coconut oil adds interesting touch to the cake. If you have it, use it. You will love it. And I really like "working" the cake from sctratch, without any boxed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is the best orange cake I have ever tried. It was sooooo moist and delicious. I did add extra grated rind to both the cake and the icing as well as some of the orange pulp to the cake. Yummo!!!! I will make this over and over again. I remembered this flavour when my mother made an orange cake and this was very close to that. Brought back some great memories. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Tasty cake. After reading the reviews, I used sour cream isntead of milk and the cake wasn't dry at all. Also used whole orange zest and bit more fresh orange juice than called for. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and used orange glaze rather than the regular icing. Though probably not often, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made this for my grandmas birthday and we had all my family over ! They all loved it!!! I did have to add a little bit more orange but it was worth it !!! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States