Beat and Bake Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Delicious and moist cake, I put the zest of one big orange and a tsp of orange extract in the cake mix, and the zest of half a big orange and half a tsp of orange extract in the icing.. simply deliciousssss !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is a lovely light and moist cake. Ingredients we normally have on hand and so easy to make. Does not really need a frosting but a dark chocolate one would enhance the lily. To give it a deeper orange flavor it does need orange zest and, as one reviewer suggested, orange liqueur. Thanks for a great contribution to this site and my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
My family loved this cake! I used 1T of orange zest in the cake batter like many reviewers suggested. This cake with the orange zest frosting is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
So far I've only tried the batter, I made it double to top a another double batter choclate cake for a HUGE cake... the batter was so yummy!! and I didn't even put any zest cuz I didn't have fresh oranges... can't wait to try it done.... The consistency of the batter was beautiful, and fluffed up so nicely... let's see how it turns out ;) Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I read the reviews I added a extra drizzle of canola oil. Or about a1/8 cup more to the 1/2 cup stated. I used the zest of 2 navel oranges 2 tbs in cake 1 in the frosting and sprinkled on top of the frosting. I added4oz of cream cheese to butter cream icing. Use real butter. I thought the layers were a little thi I may increase it by50.percent next time. It was moist and deiish. The whole house smelled wonderful.Add tony favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Me my husband And girls loved it. Yet next time I will mix all purpose flour with whole grain and will do without the frosting for a healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The frosting is AWESOME!!! Great with fresh strawberries, too! The cake is good, but I agree with other reviews...it does need more orange flavor. Next time I make this I will definitely bump up the citrus in the cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angimima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pushpa
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
ITS so moist n perfect. Less greasy . its my 3rd time baking ths cake . instead of orange i can add cocoa powder to make choc cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My husband brought home some oranges from his co-workers tree. I made this recipe into cupcakes and they came out fantastic! I did increase the amount of orange zest and brushed the tops of the cooling cupcakes with a mixture of Frangelico liquer and orange oil. They were light and moist with just the right amount of orange flavor. I sprinkled toasted chopped almonds over the frosting and my husband went nuts for them, and he is not a dessert person at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used one cup of ground roasted hazelnuts in place of one of the cups of flour, and doubled the amount of orange zest and orange juice. Added half a cup of coconut flour, which is a great cake flour (very fine, like cake flour). RAVE reviews. I will definitely make this again. (I also used freshly squeezed orange juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States