Bearnaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this on Christmas with Beef Tenderloin (recipe found here). The Bernaise sauce has too strong a vinegar taste and even though I did everything exactly as suggested, it still separated. Back to the drawing board for me. I'll seek another recipe that doesn't contain as much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Really good, rich sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I thought the sauce turned out great! I also decreased the butter to about 3/4 cup and clarified that, so probably ended up with about half a cup. The key to not having your sauce separate is to let the butter cool before you add it. Otherwise, the eggs will solidify, and you have a blend of butter and slightly solid eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I halved the vinegar when I made it and it turned out absolutely PERFECT. To keep it from separating, though, Emeril Lagasse says to clarify the butter before adding it. I'll try that next time, since it was very hard to save the leftovers of this sauce :[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really good, and very straight-forward and easy to prepare. Had it over beef wellingtons and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This sauce is fantastic. I followed the directions as written. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Very good...First time making Bearnaise for fish and it was good. After reading the reviews I was afraid that the vinegar would be too strong so I reduced it by half. Definately will make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This sauce tasted great, but the proportions seemed wrong. There is way too much butter. I ended up halfing it, and still had the sauce way too buttery. Plus the consisitancy didn't seem right cuz the butter oil didn't mix with the rest of the ingrediants. So on an aesthetic scale, it ranks low, but it still tasted great! And we're used to having it in France, so that says a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I found this recipe easy enough to make, but it had way too much of a vinegar taste. The second time I made it I cut down on the vinegar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
You will love this recipe. The flavor and the texture is just sublime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bearnaise Sauce

Make this easy sauce to complement beef tenderloin or other hearty main courses.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States