Beans-n-Franks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very flavorful, but a bit soupy. I made it with 2 cans of plain pork and beans, and will be sure to drain the liquid off next time! I also cut back a little on the sugar and used a medium sized onion rather than just 3 tbsp. served it in bowls with warm crusty bread. The teenagers in my house liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
i left the onion out because the beans have onion in them and used 2 big cans of beans and dint use the celery salt. my husband said it was tangy and good. i liked it and my neice liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpoullion
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I am giving this five stars because it is easy, inexpensive, and this with toast is now my husband's favourite meal. I am not a fan of "franks" cut up and put in anything, but this is not bad. My man's yummy noises as he sops up the last of his sauce with toast makes it ok by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I gave this 5 stars even though I thought it was just ok but my husband LOVES it and insisted it was 5 star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Very tasty! Although I'm not sure how it feeds 6, it just barely was enough for my husband & I. I don't think it was too sweet like others did either. This will be a staple in our house and next time I'll add more onions and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Perfect recipe for the whole family...my two boys eat it up every time. I don't put onions in it, instead a couple of dashes of onion powder, and I add a squirt of ketchup and a couple of tablespoons of bbq sauce. I also add some shredded cheddar cheese...yum...I make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Tastes just like my moms. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We enjoyed this. I substituted the celery salt for soul seasoning as I despise celery in any form! Cheap, easy, and quick to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I enjoyed this. I knew my kids wouldn't eat the onions so I ommited the saute step. I found 3 hot dogs to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
UPDATE: Warmed up some left-overs for lunch today and was somewhat disappointed. The hot dogs were very unappealing (i.e. wrinkled / shriveled) and the bean mixture was gummy. Next time, I'll warm up in the oven instead of in the microwave. Maybe this will alleviate the problem. I can remember my mom making a similar casserole when I was a child. I liked hers back then and I really like this one, although a little different (I think mom's recipe called for katsup and maybe Worcestershire sauce). Mom can't find her copy and doesn't remember it verbatim (she hasn't made this in a long while), so I'm keeping this one in my "keeper" file so I have it at the ready! This is a very inexpensive, kid-friendly main dish and is SUPER easy to prepare (I love that!). My only modifications were to use half of a 16 oz. pkg. of hot dogs (4 dogs) and skip slicing them (just dropped each one on top of the bean mixture). A full pkg. seemed like too much, especially since the recipe only called for one can of beans. Other than that, I followed this recipe to a T. Served with "hot dog bun" garlic bread (a cheap creation of mine!). Thanks for sharing. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States