Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family. I added a large can of diced tomato, and used chicken stock and mini bowties. I seasoned with some crushed red pepper, italian seasonings, some celery salt and some regular kosher salt, and pepper. I added some fresh grated parmesan to each bowl. This will definitely be in regular rotation during the cooler months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
JUST what I needed tonight! I didn't have to go to the store, didn't have to do much prep, didn't have to do much thinkin to throw this together and have a delicious dinner tonight (and lunch tomorrow and the next day and the next day...). It's just me this week, so this couldn't have been a more perfect meal (the other half prefers meat, which I could easily add some cooked chicken to this...). I followed Naples substitution and added swiss chard since it's what I had on hand. Excuse me while I got eat my dinner... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was okay but very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I added carrots, doubled the noodles and added water to make up for the extra ingredients. It is definitely something my family will be doing again! Also, my husband topped his with shredded pepper jack cheese! WOW! good call. I recommend every cheese lover trying that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I love this. I made it today and doubled the amount because I'm sick and want to have this for the next few days. I also added some browned pork loin, cut into very small strips. It adds a little color and flavor and a little more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was just ok. A couple weeks earlier, I'd made pretty much the same soup but no spinach and no beans and it was somehow way more flavourful. This was still alright though, I'd make it again and play with seasoning. Fresh grated parmeson or romano cheese is a must for sprinkling on top! That was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
incredibly good...unbelievably good given how simple it is. used regular spinach instead of baby spinach, added a cup of raw chicken breast cut into 1-2 inch pieces...did that when the pasta was just about cooked. Other than that stuck to recipe...family scarfed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
As is it would probably be kinda bland, but it gave me something to start with. I added sliced carrots and chopped celery, because I needed to use them and I thought they would be good in this soup. I also added much more seasonings (about 1/2 tsp each of dried oregano and thyme, plus about 2 tsp of dried parsley, and a couple shakes of cayenne pepper), along with a chicken boullion cube + 1 cup of water because I only had 5 cups of chicken broth. I used elbow macaroni because it was the only small pasta I had, but next time I would like to try it with whole wheat pasta to make it even healthier. My husband gobbled it up and said it was "outstanding," but he says that about almost everything I make so I don't know whether or not to believe him. I thought it was quite tasty. Very healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was very good. I made it as written using mini bow ties for my pasta. The only change I would make next time is to coarsely chop the spinach, rather than putting the leaves in whole. Even after wilting I thought some pieces were quite large. I also think frozen chopped spinach would work well in this. One word of caution – if you think you’re going to have leftovers, cook your pasta separately and add it to the soup when serving, otherwise the pasta will soak up a lot of the broth and you will no doubt have to add more broth to your leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Happy tummy! So good! I used orzo, and kale instead of spinach. Also added celery, a can of diced tomatoes and some smoked turkey sausage. The stock I used was pretty bland, so I added some dried thyme, parsley, a tad of ground cayenne and a ton of black pepper. Gave my dad a bunch to take home since he loved it too. Yes, pasta in soup will absorb the broth as it sits, so I just add some water when heating up leftovers. Not ideal, since the pasta does get mushy, but when a soup is this great I don't care all that much. I often cook pasta separately from soup for just this reason, and store the leftovers separately. Didn't bother this time. Garlic, greens and beans RULE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States