Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Not bad but boring. I added some additional herbs and some parmesan to try to give it something extra, but it didn't really do the trick. My husband didn't like it at all, but he's a tough sell anyway. Wish I had liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great soup and made it in less than 30 minutes. I used 8 cloves of garlic because I love it and hear from other reviews that it was not flavorful. I also added 1 seeded jalapeno chopped in with the garlic and onion. I added fresh garden chives and chopped parsley. I did a rough chop with my fresh spinach and am glad that I did otherwise you would get a large mouthful of it. The final test...the flavor is wonderful. Will make again for sure & it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
My whole family loves this soup. So easy to make and nice to save for later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Very good !! The only suggestion I have is to cook the ditalini as directed, but DON'T put the pasta in the soup. It will get overcooked. Instead leave it out after cooking, you may oil it slightly (to keep it from sticking together) The put a portion in the bottom of the bowl, add the hot soup on top. This method is useful especially if you double recipes to freeze as I do, the pasta stays perfectly al dente until you are ready to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Fantastic! I did add extra garlic and used 6 tsp of Better than Bullion No Chicken Base to 7 c. of water instead of broth. Simple and perfect as is. Because it is so simple I would suggest not using frozen spinach or a generic broth. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This soup is delicious. I make it all the time. I add sliced pepperoni for some zing and a little parsley. Escarole is great in this too. Parmasean cheese is a must also..and more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I loved this.I also added kale and chick peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is great! I put canola oil in place of olive oil cause I didn't have olive oil. I let the onions and garlic brown (caramelize), and I used better than bouillon brand chicken stock because I didn't have canned or homemade stock. I used red pepper instead of black pepper. It still turned out to be a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very tasty and so easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family. I added a large can of diced tomato, and used chicken stock and mini bowties. I seasoned with some crushed red pepper, italian seasonings, some celery salt and some regular kosher salt, and pepper. I added some fresh grated parmesan to each bowl. This will definitely be in regular rotation during the cooler months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States